rtl-sdr.com

Discuss RTL-SDR and cheap software defined radio
It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:57 pm

All times are UTC





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:21 am
Posts: 7
Location: Kennewick Wa
I have a DKD2 sdr radio USB dongle that I am connecting to a Dell Inspiron 3541, OS Win7 Home 32bit laptop. This is the 1st time connecting the dongle to this laptop. I lost all my setup instructions for the dongle + the setup software and everything else on the D hard drive that was in an external USB case. A can of Coke a Cola got dumped on the external USB hard drive case. It wiped out the external USB case and the hard drive in it. I had to re-download everything or upload what I could from backup cd's. I don't remember the routine for installing the dongle driver and SDRsharp. I did the best I could and Zadig reported the driver as successfully installed. I started up SDRsharp and everything looked fine at 1st, see the 1st attached screen capture. It shows the RTL-SDR USB highlight in blue. I then hit play and I got the 2nd screen capture bellow. "no device selected". So I went to the settings gear and opened RTL-SDR controller and "no device selected" and it is grayed out. I can't select anything, see 3rd screen capture. I don't remember how to fix it.
A PS the windows device manager reports: RTL2832U Device status as "This device is working properly".


Steve KC7BYP

Attachment:
1st sdrsarp.jpg
1st sdrsarp.jpg [ 140.36 KiB | Viewed 231 times ]




Attachment:
2nd sdrsarp.jpg
2nd sdrsarp.jpg [ 135.55 KiB | Viewed 231 times ]



Attachment:
3rd sdrsarp.jpg
3rd sdrsarp.jpg [ 147.93 KiB | Viewed 231 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm
Posts: 930
Follow the quickstart guide at www.rtl-sdr.com/qsg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:21 am
Posts: 7
Location: Kennewick Wa
Yep I found the problem after going through the quick start guide. I didn't install the driver right with "zadig" :D

rtlsdrblog wrote:
Follow the quickstart guide at http://www.rtl-sdr.com/qsg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:21 am
Posts: 7
Location: Kennewick Wa
I am still having a problem installing the driver. The 1st screen capture bellow is the list "zadig" sees. The 2nd screen capture bellow is the driver error message when I hit "reinstall driver" button. And that's is far as I can get.

Steve

Attachment:
list all.jpg
list all.jpg [ 54.32 KiB | Viewed 125 times ]


Attachment:
driver error.jpg
driver error.jpg [ 64.39 KiB | Viewed 125 times ]


reble wrote:
Yep I found the problem after going through the quick start guide. I didn't install the driver right with "zadig" :D

rtlsdrblog wrote:
Follow the quickstart guide at http://www.rtl-sdr.com/qsg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm
Posts: 930
Not sure why its failing, but zadig is already showing that you have the WinUSB driver installed.

The box on the left of the arrow shows the CURRENTLY installed driver, and the box to the right of the arrow shows the driver that WILL BE installed after click on install driver.

Yours already shows WinUSB on the left, so this indicates that the driver is already installed.

Are there any problems running SDR# or whatever software you are deciding to use?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:21 am
Posts: 7
Location: Kennewick Wa
The 1st SDRsharp screen capture bellow shows the list with the dongle listed. The 2nd screen capture shows when hit the start button in SDRsharp an error message shows up saying "no device selected". In the 3rd screen capture it shows that when I go into setup > RTL - SDR controller. There is nothing in the device box and the box is grayed out. This time I started fresh, new from the start using the quickstart guide step by step. There must be something I am doing wrong or I am missing a step.

Steve

Attachment:
1st sdrsarp.jpg
1st sdrsarp.jpg [ 140.36 KiB | Viewed 110 times ]


Attachment:
2nd sdrsarp.jpg
2nd sdrsarp.jpg [ 135.55 KiB | Viewed 110 times ]


Attachment:
3rd sdrsarp.jpg
3rd sdrsarp.jpg [ 147.93 KiB | Viewed 110 times ]


rtlsdrblog wrote:
Not sure why its failing, but zadig is already showing that you have the WinUSB driver installed.

The box on the left of the arrow shows the CURRENTLY installed driver, and the box to the right of the arrow shows the driver that WILL BE installed after click on install driver.

Yours already shows WinUSB on the left, so this indicates that the driver is already installed.

Are there any problems running SDR# or whatever software you are deciding to use?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 1:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:21 am
Posts: 7
Location: Kennewick Wa
:oops: BINGO now SDRsharp works. I forgot to install the file "rtlsdr.dll" in the SDRsharp directory. It just hit me all of a sudden like a light bulb kicking on. So you can file this one away for the next person that has this problem. And you can ask them if the "rtlsdr.dll" file is installed. :D I still have to fine tune SDRsharp for best signal, but at lease it now works.

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group