Have people tried using Satellite TV Switches

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
KG5RCS
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:10 pm

Have people tried using Satellite TV Switches

Post by KG5RCS » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:12 am

The ones I am thinking of look like splitter/combiners, But they are switches with n inputs, and m outputs. The inputs are intended to be connected to LNB outputs (950-2150 MHz). The outputs are cables going to satellite receiver(s). I don't know how the receiver signals the switch to select the input.

Use LNA instead of LNB?

A quick glance at ebay shows 2, 4, or 8 inputs with 1, 2, or 4 outputs.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Pansat-4x1-DiSE ... 53f96bc13f it's a 54-2400 MHz. It's a 4 input 1 output, and it's only $5.49 US, high isolation, 3db insertion loss,

Hmm. Looks like gnuradio may be able to handle DiSEqC. That sounds promising.

The inputs could select different antennas. It would be interesting to use n (or m) lna4all one for each input (or output) depending on the insertion loss. Output cables go to rtl-sdr or other receivers.

With an assortment filters sprinkled around.
Last edited by KG5RCS on Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

joe36
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 11:09 pm
Location: Cass co. in. 46994

Re: Have people tried using Satellite TV Switches

Post by joe36 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:55 am

I think they will make very nice antenna switches. They are designed well with a good isolation.
I have one beside me now. It was$1 at the Salvation Army. It is just an A-B switch that I am confident will work well. As of yesterday I ordered the adapters from Alie-express to adapt to sma.
Joe KA9UCN

P-40 Warhawk
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: Have people tried using Satellite TV Switches

Post by P-40 Warhawk » Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:17 pm

The satellite splitter /combiners I think use a voltage to switch to different antennas that is supplied buy the satellite receiver . For myself I use an A/B switch and it work"s just fine .

KG5RCS
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Have people tried using Satellite TV Switches

Post by KG5RCS » Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:05 pm

Have you figured out how to control them? I just found http://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads ... er.361469/. I have not taken a close look at it, yet.

Some DiSEqC versions are bi-directional.

Excerpt, from the Wikipedia:

A number of versions of DiSEqC exist:

DiSEqC 1.0, which allows switching between up to 4 satellite sources
DiSEqC 1.1, which allows switching between up to 16 sources
DiSEqC 1.2, which allows switching between up to 16 sources, and control of a single axis satellite motor
DiSEqC 2.0, which adds bi-directional communications to DiSEqC 1.0
DiSEqC 2.1, which adds bi-directional communications to DiSEqC 1.1
DiSEqC 2.2, which adds bi-directional communications to DiSEqC 1.2

Think this article supports bi-directional communications. I you are using version 1.x with switching commands only, you can omit the circuitry that decodes the messages from the switch. I haven't dug deep enough to know what kinds of things the switch talks about. Aha, I think I understand. Probably a switch doesn't have much if anything, to say. But, there may be sense data from antenna positioners, etc.

Here's another link I haven't taken a close look at: https://pdfserv.maximintegrated.com/en/an/AN5339.pdf

This is probably more than we want to know for now: http://www.eutelsat.com/en/support/tech ... iseqc.html. But, we may have to dig through it to find answers to puzzles.

Let us know how things go when you receive the adapters.

Post Reply