Multiprocessor

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
MonkeyFarmer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:10 am

Multiprocessor

Post by MonkeyFarmer » Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:16 am

I'm running SDR# on an Lenovo laptop workstation with an Intel I7 with 8 cores. The SDR# seems to be using 4. Is that to be expected? I plan to put it on a server with 4 chips x 8 cores and am curious if the program is set to use some % of the available.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Multiprocessor

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:24 am

You'd be best off asking the author of the software, but it seems probable that its designed to use 4 cores. Probably not much benefit for the extra cores.

DB Gain
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:20 pm

Re: Multiprocessor

Post by DB Gain » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:07 pm

In general, if using windows one can look at task manager to see how many threads an application is using, this will give you an idea as to how many threads an app is coded for. You might have to set task manager to show thread count first. In my case sdr# shows 25 threads.

MonkeyFarmer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:10 am

Re: Multiprocessor

Post by MonkeyFarmer » Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:17 pm

I note that the performance monitor runs shows 4 of 8 cores and between 50% and 100% depending on what I am doing with SDR#. It never seems to use any more. I would ask the author, but I don't know how to find the author. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Mike

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Multiprocessor

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:20 pm

MonkeyFarmer wrote:I note that the performance monitor runs shows 4 of 8 cores and between 50% and 100% depending on what I am doing with SDR#. It never seems to use any more. I would ask the author, but I don't know how to find the author. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Mike
http://airspy.com/contact/

Post Reply