rtl-sdr CHEAP

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
radiowaz
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:09 am

Re: rtl-sdr CHEAP

Post by radiowaz » Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:39 pm

I did it worked and can go up to 1.7ghz now,, its a v2.. I was going to buy a v3 but ham friend of mine says to much noise and specious emitions on the v3 modle.. don't know for a fact, but thanks for the help !!

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2738
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: rtl-sdr CHEAP

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:58 pm

The V3 actually has vastly less noise and spurs on VHF and above.

He might be talking about using the HF direct sampling mode which doesn't exist on the V2. Direct sampling gets you HF for free but it can be fairly noisy.

W1ABA
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:05 pm

Re: rtl-sdr CHEAP

Post by W1ABA » Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:33 pm

It's cheap because of Intellectual Property Theft by the Chinese.

Post Reply