sdr# set up

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2883
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: sdr# set up

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:52 am

The lowest frequency a V2 or other brand of dongle that you would have bought 3-4 years ago can go down to is only about 24 - 25 MHz.

So tuning to 21 MHz won't work unless you're using the hacked HF drivers with it, although that gives poor performance unless you have a really good antenna.

Maybe post a photo of your dongle so we can see what it is.

radiowaz
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:09 am

Re: sdr# set up

Post by radiowaz » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:34 pm

ok I got this pic off the ebay,, but its the same one,, mine is mounted up under desk top, (pain in butt to remove).
I got some FM yesterday but very weak and can barely here it, and its only 40 min down the road.. Like I have no audio except radio hash.. haven't given up, its -3 degrees out today and I think I'll stay in and try to get it working..
dongle.gif
my dongle
dongle.gif (24.81 KiB) Viewed 4703 times

tim_rtd
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:34 am

Re: sdr# set up

Post by tim_rtd » Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:27 pm

Ok, so listening to FM radio your antenna should be on the UV and radio should be in quadrature mode.
Shortwave antenna should be on the HF and radio should be in direct sampling mode I or Q. Usually sensitive appears to be poor in this mode.

*** Lastly, turn the RF gain up.............
And if I remember correctly the rf gain adj doesn't work in direct sampling.

radiowaz
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:09 am

Re: sdr# set up

Post by radiowaz » Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:18 am

Tnx to all who tried to help,,, some of it was useful, I have gotten it to work as well as its going to .. I have come to the conclusion that I'm am expecting it to work as well as HDSDR and it just isn't going to happen.. I'll still play with it a little and even try some of the others as well. On HDSDR I hear double to triple the number of signals and quality is about 60% better.
This is my own option. My 3 antennas 20-40-80 meter and 2-440 vertical help but all of this doesn't even come close to my FT990at ham radio,, don't know what I was expecting.. Tnx Agn CUL

dlritter
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:08 am

Re: sdr# set up

Post by dlritter » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:21 pm

HDSDR uses an ExtIO_RTLxxxxx.dll and SDR# uses SDRSharp.RTLSDR.dll which is Sharps proprietary driver. Probably been decades since it was last updated.
73 Dave N6DL

radiowaz
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:09 am

Re: sdr# set up

Post by radiowaz » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:57 am

Thanks Tnx, I'm going to try a bunch of the different ones out there,,
CUL AA0OI Garrett

Post Reply