question about how bandwidth is displayed

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
martronic
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:18 pm

question about how bandwidth is displayed

Post by martronic » Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:27 pm

i want to know if the max zoom out is the max bandwidth the sdr can see at one time... because i want to see a large range of frequencies and see if there is a way to auto tune to a signal that is above a specific signal strength threshold...

hotpaw2
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: question about how bandwidth is displayed

Post by hotpaw2 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:56 pm

The visible bandwidth will depend on the particular SDR software visualizer you are using. Some show you the full sample rate bandwidth (or half sample rate for baseband ADCs), some show less. The useful bandwidth will depend on the phase accuracy and filter transition of the SDR hardware. Which may be why some software shows less.

There also may be spectrum analyzer software which shows a composite spectrum wider than the current sample rate.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2190
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: question about how bandwidth is displayed

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Apr 03, 2018 4:47 am

RTL-SDR max bandwidth is 3.2 MHz (with packet drops), or 2.8 MHz without. You can set that using the sample rate setting in whatever software you are using.

But as mentioned by the other poster, if you're using a different SDR the bandwidth could be different.

Post Reply