Page 1 of 1

question about how bandwidth is displayed

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:27 pm
by martronic
i want to know if the max zoom out is the max bandwidth the sdr can see at one time... because i want to see a large range of frequencies and see if there is a way to auto tune to a signal that is above a specific signal strength threshold...

Re: question about how bandwidth is displayed

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:56 pm
by hotpaw2
The visible bandwidth will depend on the particular SDR software visualizer you are using. Some show you the full sample rate bandwidth (or half sample rate for baseband ADCs), some show less. The useful bandwidth will depend on the phase accuracy and filter transition of the SDR hardware. Which may be why some software shows less.

There also may be spectrum analyzer software which shows a composite spectrum wider than the current sample rate.

Re: question about how bandwidth is displayed

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 4:47 am
by rtlsdrblog
RTL-SDR max bandwidth is 3.2 MHz (with packet drops), or 2.8 MHz without. You can set that using the sample rate setting in whatever software you are using.

But as mentioned by the other poster, if you're using a different SDR the bandwidth could be different.