Page 1 of 1

rtl_fm for broadcast am radio

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:57 pm
by jimform2k1
Hello,

On windows 10, I have rtl_fm working fine with wbfm 97.5M.

I only get noise when try am broadcast radio with command line:

rtl_fm -M am -f 800M -r 8k -g 20| play -r 8k -t raw -e s -b 16 -c 1 -V1 -

What am I missing?

Thanks

Jim

Re: rtl_fm for broadcast am radio

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:44 am
by Aussie Susan
The 'man' page that was the first result of a Google search shows that the '-M am' command line option is experimental.
It could well be that it is not working on the version you are using.
Also are you selecting the correct frequency? Most of the broadcast AM stations I know are in the 500KHz to 1.6MHz range and not 800MHz.
Susan

Re: rtl_fm for broadcast am radio

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:57 pm
by ab1jx
Aside from the man page, also try
rtl-fm --help
which just triggers the usage instructions you get because it didn't understand what you were trying to do.