quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
ILSAPP
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:50 pm

quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Post by ILSAPP » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:49 am

Hi all,

I just would like to know if it is possible to use the RTL-SDR to feed dump1090/flightradar and at the same time use it for listen to VHF AM band like aeronautical, naval, etc.


Thank you

hotpaw2
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Post by hotpaw2 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:55 pm

The bandwidth of an RTL-SDR is far too narrow to allow listening on two widely separated frequency bands. However your server might have enough USB ports to allow plugging in 2 RTL-SDRs, each tuned to a different band, one for 1090, the other for airband, etc.

ILSAPP
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Post by ILSAPP » Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:20 pm

Thanks for the clear and quick reply.

Username
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Post by Username » Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:07 am

You need atleast 2 Antenna. one for 1090 and the other for ~130Mhz both with one Antenna is quite inpossible.

ILSAPP
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Post by ILSAPP » Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:15 am

Username wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:07 am
You need atleast 2 Antenna. one for 1090 and the other for ~130Mhz both with one Antenna is quite inpossible.
Thanks for the reply.
Yes I understand that, I just wonder if it was possible to monitor both freqs simultaneously with only one usb rtlsdr dongle, despite of the antenna bandwidth question.

Username
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: quick question about RTL SDR dongle

Post by Username » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:11 am

You need atlest 2 dongle for. I can recommend: https://www.ebay.de/usr/nooelec the "nesdr".

Post Reply