Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
Robert11
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:47 am

Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by Robert11 » Sat May 18, 2019 8:43 pm

Hello,

New at this. Have just bought the
RTL Dongle.

If I want to use sdr# and acarsd,
or wacars, for acars decoding, do I
need a virtual audio cable, or is
setting Windows10 to Stereo Mix
all that is needed ?

Thanks,
Bob

alanzfq
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:18 am

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by alanzfq » Sun May 19, 2019 7:53 am

Stereo Mix act as a single cable.
Alan

Username
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by Username » Sun May 19, 2019 10:54 am

Why not use Acarsdeco2?

Robert11
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:47 am

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by Robert11 » Tue May 21, 2019 12:21 pm

Hi

Just a quick thanks for help.
Much appreciated.

Will try the StereoMix approach.

Looked at the deco2 program.
Frankly, just too complicated for me now at my age.

Hoping that acarsd or maybe wacars will be a better match
for my IQ and age now.

Regards,
Bob

Username
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by Username » Tue May 21, 2019 2:56 pm

should i send you a sample script for acarsdeco2?
With the software you can decode multible channels at the same time.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed May 22, 2019 2:26 am

It's definitely worth the trouble to try and understand acarsdeco2.

It's performance is miles above the others, and it can decode multiple channels simultaneously.

The setup of other programs like acarsd are arguably even more convoluted, because you need to set up a receiver program, audio piping software and the program itself.

JEL
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Post by JEL » Sun May 26, 2019 11:01 am

Username wrote:
Tue May 21, 2019 2:56 pm
should i send you a sample script for acarsdeco2?
With the software you can decode multible channels at the same time.
I don't know if the OP has asked your for one, but I would certainly like to see a script :) (if possible, one that works with the Airspy, if that's relevant to the script)
Thanks.

Post Reply