Page 1 of 1

Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 8:43 pm
by Robert11
Hello,

New at this. Have just bought the
RTL Dongle.

If I want to use sdr# and acarsd,
or wacars, for acars decoding, do I
need a virtual audio cable, or is
setting Windows10 to Stereo Mix
all that is needed ?

Thanks,
Bob

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 7:53 am
by alanzfq
Stereo Mix act as a single cable.
Alan

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 10:54 am
by Username
Why not use Acarsdeco2?

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 12:21 pm
by Robert11
Hi

Just a quick thanks for help.
Much appreciated.

Will try the StereoMix approach.

Looked at the deco2 program.
Frankly, just too complicated for me now at my age.

Hoping that acarsd or maybe wacars will be a better match
for my IQ and age now.

Regards,
Bob

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 2:56 pm
by Username
should i send you a sample script for acarsdeco2?
With the software you can decode multible channels at the same time.

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 2:26 am
by rtlsdrblog
It's definitely worth the trouble to try and understand acarsdeco2.

It's performance is miles above the others, and it can decode multiple channels simultaneously.

The setup of other programs like acarsd are arguably even more convoluted, because you need to set up a receiver program, audio piping software and the program itself.

Re: Virtual Audio Cable Req. ?

Posted: Sun May 26, 2019 11:01 am
by JEL
Username wrote:
Tue May 21, 2019 2:56 pm
should i send you a sample script for acarsdeco2?
With the software you can decode multible channels at the same time.
I don't know if the OP has asked your for one, but I would certainly like to see a script :) (if possible, one that works with the Airspy, if that's relevant to the script)
Thanks.