Sigmira: Sr. Citizen Woes

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
Robert11
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:47 am

Sigmira: Sr. Citizen Woes

Post by Robert11 » Thu May 23, 2019 12:39 pm

Hello,

Will, as usual, blame it on my age now.
Sr. Citizen in my 80's, and really enjoy sw listening.

Would love to be able to use Sigmira which I have downloaded. Running W10.

I have SigTools Version 1r14 apparently. Sigmira\sigtools_1r14\bin\......

In its Folder I also have for the RSP-2: EXTIO_SDRPlay_RSP2.dll

Can get absolutely nothing using either a SDRPlay RSP-2 or the new Dongle I have.
Can use SDR#, but nothing via Sigmira.
Display does come up, lots of "noise", but that's about it.

Undoubtedly something I have not installed, or more likely not configured correctly.

Perhaps the sound card source, or... ?
Something in SigTools perhaps ?

If anyone has a few spare minutes, and can walk me thru what I should check, what I should have, and where,
I would be truly appreciative. Off Line would be fine too, if more appropriate or convenient. [email protected]

I'm really lost, but would love to use this program. Either with the Dongle, or with the SDRPlay RSP-2
Undoubtedly something dumb I have done or not done, as usual.
Frankly, have no idea what I should check out now, or what might be wrong.

As always,
Thanks,
Bob

hotpaw2
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Sigmira: Sr. Citizen Woes

Post by hotpaw2 » Fri May 24, 2019 6:59 am

Why not ask the sigmira developer? Probably knows a lot more than anyone here.

Robert11
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:47 am

Re: Sigmira: Sr. Citizen Woes

Post by Robert11 » Fri May 24, 2019 11:19 am

Hi,

Have tried.
Twice.

Non responsive.

Shame, as it seems like a terrific program.
Sure would like to use it.

Probably something really dumb, on my part, that I'm missing, but have no idea what.

Supposed to work, now, without any virtual audio cable with either
a Dongle, or with SDRPlay RSP. Says to use Stereo Mix, which, i think, I am.

Neither works.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Bob

alanzfq
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:18 am

Re: Sigmira: Sr. Citizen Woes

Post by alanzfq » Fri May 24, 2019 8:51 pm

Bob,
Why the insistence on Sigmira?
If SDR# works why not use that?
Or HDSDR or SDR Console? These are far more popular, better known and work well.
Sigmira is only useful for the few odd modes it can decode, if you can find them on the air. If you can get it to work...
Alan

JEL
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Sigmira: Sr. Citizen Woes

Post by JEL » Sun May 26, 2019 10:56 am

I think it may be a Windows10 thing (one of the recent updates to Windows10 breaking it)

I can not get it to work either and have given up on it.

Post Reply