Newby-Question about the computer.

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
Roberteod
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:37 pm

Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by Roberteod » Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:54 pm

I recently purchased the RTL-SDR.com dongle and I have been told that I can use SDR# software on my imac computer. I just need to confirm this or ask for recommendations on what other software I should use.

Username
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by Username » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:55 pm

I use SDR# and the are very good! :D
I hope you know a Dongle is just a start.
You need a propper Antenna, LNA, Filter,...

Roberteod
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:37 pm

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by Roberteod » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:34 pm

Thanks for the reply. I have a tri-band beam at 55 feet and DXCC. I just want to get my feet wet right now. I can always get add-Ons later.

Username
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by Username » Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:51 pm

Depend what your Feet size is?! :?

hotpaw2
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by hotpaw2 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:10 pm

You can also install rtl_tcp on your Mac, and use the rtl_tcp server with a couple different iOS apps to connect to your RTL-SDR from an iPhone or iPad.

Installation instructions here: https://inst.eecs.berkeley.edu/~ee123/fa12/rtl_sdr.html

For HF DX work, I might also recommend the Airspy HF+ Discovery, which has much better sensitivity and selectivity than direct sampling with a RTL-SDR. I use an hfp_tcp server to allow streaming to an SDR app on an iOS device from my MacBook.

Roberteod
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:37 pm

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by Roberteod » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:32 pm

Username wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:55 pm
I use SDR# and the are very good! :D
I hope you know a Dongle is just a start.
You need a propper Antenna, LNA, Filter,...
If I use SDR# on my Mac do I have to have a windows emulator?

Username
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by Username » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:40 pm

Install Windows 7.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2506
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Newby-Question about the computer.

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:50 pm

SDR# isn't going to work on a Mac, but there are alternatives like GQRX and CubicSDR for Macs.

Post Reply