Why Can't I Grasp This?!?

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
BigNutz

Why Can't I Grasp This?!?

Post by BigNutz » Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:14 pm

Hey Everyone:

Long time lurker, finally gave in to my reality and registered for an account. I'm not sure what or where my disconnect is with this discipline. I have a relatively solid understanding of RF theory, grew up in a house with a father who has just retired after a brief 43 year stint as the local NBC affiliate Chief Audio Engineer & Voice Over Announcer. He also built and ran his own unlicensed low power AM radio station in his basement when he was 11, so I'm sure most people here can imagine the kind of guy my dad is.

Anyway, instead of audio engineering which required algebra and logarithms to master, my industry of choice was civil aviation. Yes, I'm a licensed commercial pilot, but flying was a brief minor path I thought was right for me, until I realized it wasn't. Unlike most aviation industry careerists, I bounced around the industry always ending up in some obscure sector which was in no way related to the sector I had previously came from. Wasn't a planned strategy by any measure, I just jumped positions every 2½ years or so, out of jobs that are usually filled for careers, eventually finding my place in the world as a USAF Civilian Intelligence Officer and Civil Aviation Subject Matter Expert (SME).

I spent 8 unbelievably glorious years proving to everyone around me, and eventually to myself as well that it is absolutely possible for someone to love a job too much. Sounds counter intuitive, I know, but trust me. Anyway, this was the first position I had held where I actually used absolutely every obscure drop of industry experience and knowledge I had gained prior to being hired. I also was compelled to learn more about the theory underlying and operational understanding of the ADS-B system. So, now I am doing what Iu used to for the USAF, only through my own company and in controlled doses.