Page 1 of 2

sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:24 am
by iw2fvo
Good day to all in this forum.
I did read on the web that the SDR# can be tuned by the WXTRACK program in order to receive APT satellites.
How could I do that ?
How to configure the two programs ?
Thanks a lot for any help on this matter,
regards,
Ambro
iw2fvo

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:50 pm
by BackHive
Ambro,

You first need to setup SDR# and WxTrack correctly.

Firstly download up to date satellite elements and place the sats you are interested in into group 1 (for example). You then need to edit the 'frequencies.ini' file (in the WxTrack folder) with a text editor to add the frequencies for the satellites you are interested in. You also need to edit the 'radio.ini. file to also add the frequencies and mode etc. The radio.ini file must be placed in the same folder where you have stored the satellite elements. This folder is read by WxTrack when it starts up.

Next, you must add the SDR# DDE addon plugin from here... http://www.satsignal.eu/software/DDETracker.html

Start up both programs, in SDR# open the DDE plugin panel and select 'Options', make sure 'WxTrack' is selected and click 'Connect'.
In WxTrack select 'Tracker' from the top menu. Select 'CX6DD WispDDE Client'. In the first tab .. 'General' make sure 'DDE Always' and 'DDE upper-case' are checked. Then in the 'Radio' tab, select the satellite you want to track and hit OK. That should do it.

David Taylor, the creator of WxTrack recently kindly created a program called 'FastWxTrack' to update the doppler corrected frequency of SDR# at 20 times a second. This is a great tool as it keeps the sat signal centered, great for decoding etc it's currently in beta version..... http://www.satsignal.eu/software/beta.htm

I hope this helps.

B/H.

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:06 pm
by iw2fvo
Hi BackHive,
Thanks a lot for the assistance.
I have installed SDR# v.1.0.0.1457 rtl-sdr-usb. I have also downloaded the DDE .zip and extraceted the file into the folder where sdr.exe is.
It is working well as is but I am not able to see the DDE tab.
The SDR config is like this: ( see the attached file ).

And this is different wrt the satsignal one: any help please ?

I did also install the WXTRACK v.3.8.38.1036, 2015 dec 10 and it is working well as is . I applied all the configuration indicated by you.

Thanks again for the great help.
Regards,
Ambro, iw2fvo
Italy

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:09 pm
by BackHive
Ambro,

I can not see any file attached in your last post.
You do not need to edit any 'cfg' file in SDR#.. But you must add this line to the plugins.xml file :

<add key="DDE Tracker" value="SDRSharp.DDETracker.DdeTrackingPlugin,SDRSharp.DDETracker" />

B/H.

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:51 am
by iw2fvo
Hi BackHive,
I am not able to attach the cfg files.
I am attaching the SDR# folder content : in what file do I have to add the required line , please ?
Regards,
Ambrogio

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 11:04 pm
by BackHive
Ambro,

In your first screen shot, it's the 4th file down 'plugins'. The full name of this file is 'plugins.xml', but you have your system set to not show the file extension ('xml'). Right click on this file and choose to edit or open it with Notepad or a similar text editor. I use the excellent, free Notepad++... https://notepad-plus-plus.org/.

B/H.

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 3:47 pm
by iw2fvo
Hi BackHive,
Thanks to be so patient with me .
I did repeat the sequence several time but no DDE is displayed on sdr#.
Any more direction for me please ?
I did attache two screen captures ...
Regards
Ambro
73, iw2fvo

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:04 pm
by BackHive
Ambro,

The second last line in your plugins.xml file... 'DDE Tracking Client.....' remove that line and try again. I do not have or need that entry.

B/H.

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:56 pm
by iw2fvo
Ok, youi are right ... it was one of my try...
I removed the second last line but I can not see the DDE plugin in sdr# at all .
Is the version of my installed SDR ok ? I downloaded it from airspy site: is it correct ?
Are there any other change to be performed on the SDR folder files ?
Thanks
Ambro

Re: sdr sharp and wxtrack ... how to...

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 6:24 pm
by iw2fvo
I found that two .DLL files have to be downloaded from satsignal.eu and saved on the SDR installation folder.
Now I get the DDE plugin displayed on the SDR.
I did the sequence: SDR \ option \ wxtrack and then connect.
Wxtrack was open and set up as indicated.
When does the sdr# frequency will be updated by the WXTRACK ?
Thanks for all,
regards,
Ambrogio