I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Show off any of your RTL-SDR or cheap SDR related projects.
Post Reply
Rufty
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:23 pm

I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by Rufty » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:39 pm

I was wondering what happened when more than one SDR was connected at a time, and, well, this.
SDRhub.jpg
At least it isn't a 12way hub.
SDRhub.jpg (184.7 KiB) Viewed 13202 times

Rufty
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:23 pm

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by Rufty » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:43 pm

OK, that jpg didn't work. Here: https://wbh.org/pics/SDRhub.jpg

Username
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by Username » Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:33 am

haha you dont want see my SDR....
The are connected with a long USB Cable to my Pc.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2394
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:43 am

Do they still work? I would guess that if you tried to run them all at once you'd run out of USB bandwidth, or maybe even come into power limits.

Probably using multiple hubs on different USB ports which are connected to different USB controllers would allow you to run that many.

gil
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:17 am

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by gil » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:27 pm

So, what are the benefits of having multiple sdr radios connected that way?

Username
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by Username » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:39 pm

Delock offer an Card with 4 USB Chipset: http://www.delock.de/produkte/F_319_USB ... n[quote]So, what are the benefits of having multiple sdr radios connected that way?[/quote]in my case:
2x ADSB (1x Areal + 1Yagi)
3x Dongle for ACARS

Maybe 1x for AIS....

Rufty
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:23 pm

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by Rufty » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:48 pm

Well, I wanted to do a return loss sweep using a directional couple. So the HackRF to send a signal, and 2xRTL-SDR for the forward and return coupled signals. But that needed a powered hub, and, well, the empty sockets got me wondering what happened with serial number collisions, and then the picture happened.

Username
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: I'm going to need a bigger hub...

Post by Username » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:52 pm

Edit the Serial No?

Post Reply