Page 1 of 1

Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:50 am
by tim_rtd
Any concepts out there where as the xmit side of plutosdr is used as the LO for a mixer to rcv > 6ghz ?

Re: Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:26 pm
by tim_rtd
Just fyi, I have successfully used a MiniCircuits ZX05-153 mixer using the Plutosdr xmitter output set to 6 Ghz to act as the LO and on the test bench synthesizer have viewed 10.98ghz signal on SDR#. I used the iio-oscilloscope app to program up the 6GHZ xmit signal.

Re: Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:50 am
by rtlsdrblog
Nice, yep I see no reason why it wouldn't work. Just not sure on the quality of the LO output, e.g. phase noise

Re: Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 8:26 pm
by snn47
I had also asked if the suppression of spurious emissions were meassured, when a signal is generated, but there was unfortunately no reply.

Alternative to Re: Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:28 am
by snn47
Maybee an alternative "35-4400 MHz with a new ADF4351 board"

https://translate.google.de/translate?h ... 51_neu.htm

Like for the Pluto SDR I could not find information on suppression of spurious emissions

Re: Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:49 pm
by 9a4qv
tim_rtd wrote:
Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:26 pm
Just fyi, I have successfully used a MiniCircuits ZX05-153 mixer using the Plutosdr xmitter output set to 6 Ghz to act as the LO and on the test bench synthesizer have viewed 10.98ghz signal on SDR#. I used the iio-oscilloscope app to program up the 6GHZ xmit signal.
Can you explain how did you do it please?
I measured the Pluto TX side and the maximum power is - 53dBm or so.
The mixer you used is level 7 mixer (requiring +7dBm) of LO to operate properly.

By the way, I do have such a converter done with the LNA at the input, mixer and the amplifier for the LO but still the Pluto TX level is too low.

thanks
Adam

Re: Pluto xmit used as LO for mixer ??

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:11 am
by 9a4qv
Just to update the findings, thanks to Tim I manage to get the full power ADALM can deliver and it is possible to use the ADALM TX port for the downconverter LO.

thanks guys,
Adam