Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Show off any of your RTL-SDR or cheap SDR related projects.
Post Reply
ON5HB
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:40 pm

Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by ON5HB » Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:45 pm

Hi there,

I'm using RTL-Dongles to drive my websdr online receiver.
At the moment 2 dongles in use, for 160~80M shortwave and 2M VHF.
The plan is to install 4 or more dongles over time to cover more Ham-radio bands.

Used hardware:

2x RTL-SDR v3 dongles
1x Upconverter 125 MHz (direct sampling is possible with patched rtl_tcp drivers but too much mixing products)
1x Dual-core 1.1GHz Intel Celeron running Debian

Have fun playing with it: http://heppen.be:8091

For other SDR online receivers: http://www.sdr.org

Greetings,

Bas - ON5HB

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2321
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 pm

Very nice! Thanks for sharing, had a good time browsing.

ON5HB
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by ON5HB » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:38 pm

I ordered 2 more dongles to add even more bands.
I wonder how long it takes before my USB 2.0 bus will overload :lol:

The direct-sampling works way good, as it doesn't have PPM problems, it's right on the freq that is tuned, no floating around.

I tried with an 125 MHz up-converter, but there is no difference, in fact it has less mixing (ghost) signals then without.

ON5HB
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by ON5HB » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:30 pm

Problem solved!

I ordered attenuators and a NoElec Upconverter with TXCO.
The signal from my G5RV was overloading the dongles, so I added -10dB attenuator before the Upconverter.
Then after splitted the coax into 4 dongles, works great!

So I ordered another 2 dongles from you guys to add more bands.

These dongles are really good, direct sampling is nice and works but you can't regulate input gains, so they overload very quickly.
This is not a problem for people with a small antenna, but I'm using Ham Radio antenna's, they have a very high voltage level with big signals.
Heck if you touch the coax during static conditions (happens a lot) you will be shocked....as in electrocuted :lol:

Therefor the Upconverter is in place, it has protection and I can regulate the input-gain per dongle.
Current situation, see pictures.
IMG_20180228_172720.jpg
4 dongles in use at the moment.
IMG_20180228_172720.jpg (741 KiB) Viewed 8989 times
IMG_20180228_172726.jpg
Upconverter to protect overloading
IMG_20180228_172726.jpg (912.42 KiB) Viewed 8989 times
The hub is powered and can handle 10 devices :D

Lesson learned, first attenuate the signals with -10dB, then upconvert....works well.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2321
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:38 pm

Looks good! Yes attenuation, or filtering may be required for direct sampling mode if you have a very good antenna.

But I worry about your statement that the antenna constantly shocks you with static. It sounds like your antenna is not grounded properly/safely, or doesn't have any ESD or lightning protection built in? If you have a large outdoor antenna prone to static you should be taking care of that first.

The dongles and ham-it-up do both and ESD protection, but I think with constant shocks either one could eventually wear out and fail.

JEL
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by JEL » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:13 am

Great pictures and setup :)

Which distances can you run the USB at with a powered hub?
I have run into issues when trying to go above 5 meter from the computer (Using unpowered USB extender cables, which do state they have a length-limit)
Can you get 10 or 15 meters if using powered hubs? Any downsides of using such devices?
I know they sell optical USB cables, but they cost a fortune.

About the 'shocking' antenna connection, here in Denmark the standard TV wall-outlet-connection will also shock you if you touch it. Enough so you learn to avoid repeating touching it once you've been hit a few times :)
DO take care!

ON5HB
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:40 pm

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by ON5HB » Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:42 pm

I use a cable of about 1.5m in length.
But I use Belkin cables, those are very good and very thick wires, never had problems with those.
And the hub is Logilink 10 ports 2.0 with 3.5A 5V powersupply.

There is no shocking anymore, probably because I replaced the motherboard, it stopped doing so after.
Everything is grounded here to HF and heating earth.

Or it could be because I added 2 extra dongles, it's running 6 dongles at the moment.
Maybe in a few weeks again few more until the hub is filled :lol:

Username
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by Username » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:08 pm

Position?
Sadly here all my Ports are close so I cant access your SDR.

n4but
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:28 pm

Re: Web SDR with RTL-SDR dongles.

Post by n4but » Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:30 pm

How did you get multiple dongles to get recognized in websdr? I need to use 3 dongles.
im currently using this line for one dongle:
device !rtlsdr 127.0.0.1:1234

while using rtl_tcp.

Is there a better way?

73
Nick N4BUT

Post Reply