SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Talk about other SDR products like the FunCube, HackRF, BladeRF etc.
Post Reply
Robert11
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:47 am

SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by Robert11 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:46 am

Hello,
Happy Holidays.

a. Should I be able to use SDR# with a SDRPlay RSP-2 ?

b. How about with the newer SDRPlay RSPdx ?

If not, something for the future ? When, maybe ?

Thanks,
Bob

aurgathor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:14 am

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by aurgathor » Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:24 pm

I think older releases of SDR# should work with SDRPlay devices.

Don't own or used any RSP device, so this is based on only what I remember reading.
Not sure about the version number, but it could be 1361 and older.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2676
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:40 am

SDR# doesn't support SDRplay units as they are competitors.

SDRUno is the recommended software for SDRplay units, and only that program will work best.

aurgathor
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:14 am

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by aurgathor » Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:41 pm

rtlsdrblog wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:40 am
SDRUno is the recommended software for SDRplay units, and only that program will work best.
While that may very well be correct (I have no experience with them together) older releases of SDR# did indeed work with some SDRPlay devices.

Personally, I tried SDRUno with a RTL-SDR v3, and I can understand why people would like to run SDR# instead.

In any case, for the OP, here is the official answer for RSP1a from the now closed SDRPlay forum: https://www.sdrplay.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=3876 (I presume newer ones should be similar)

mindwiper
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:46 pm

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by mindwiper » Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:01 pm

try this

rtl-sdr emu by JanVanKatwijk - windows-fake-rtlsdr-example-2019-08-18
http://www.radioscanner.ru/forum/topic4 ... msg1445949

SDRplay SDR# Plugin by Francois Guillet F6FLT - SDRSharp_v17xx-Plugin-for-SDRPlay-2019-09-18
http://www.radioscanner.ru/forum/topic4 ... msg1450587

mindwiper
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:46 pm

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by mindwiper » Sat Mar 21, 2020 9:11 am

another one solution by Christophe Marchand bring back ExtIO devices support for SDR# 1600+ versions, also it support latest SDRplay ExtIO dll from official site dowloads, just unpack SDR#_ExtIO_v1.1.zip to SDR# folder, select UHD/USRP source and choose path to *ExtIO.dll or put it into SDR# folder

tustinfarm
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:18 am

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by tustinfarm » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:55 pm

mindwiper wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 9:11 am
another one solution by Christophe Marchand bring back ExtIO devices support for SDR# 1600+ versions, also it support latest SDRplay ExtIO dll from official site dowloads, just unpack SDR#_ExtIO_v1.1.zip to SDR# folder, select UHD/USRP source and choose path to *ExtIO.dll or put it into SDR# folder
I am delighted to report that it WORKS with my both my RSP1 & RSPdx units. I had been completely ignoring SDR# since getting an RTL-SDR dongle a few years ago (preferred to use HDSDR), but I recently "discovered" what a truly great program SDR# is. Then I found out it wouldn't work with the SDRPlay units. Until now, that is. A huge thanks to Christophe Marchand, & mindwiper for posting it!

tustinfarm
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:18 am

Re: SDR# Question & SDRPlay Units ?

Post by tustinfarm » Sun May 03, 2020 10:46 pm

There is one catch to the new SDRplay "trick", though. If you try to run the Spyserver remote software for remote access to the SDR, the SDRplay won't be found, and I haven't been able to find a workaround in the configuration file to force it to "see" the SDRplay.

Post Reply