NSA Tracking of powered down cellphones and other wireless devices

Talk about anything else here.
JTC

NSA Tracking of powered down cellphones and other wireless devices

Post by JTC » Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:39 am

Hello all. I'm relatively new to the SDR world and this is my first post.

I recently read an interesting article about the NSA having the ability to track powered down mobile devices and many were commenting on that story, "How could this be possible?" I found myself asking the same thing and thought I'd raise the question here, and contribute my theory on the subject.

First the question: We all have heard that the best way to prevent your device from being tracked is to remove the battery (for those devices that have batteries that can be removed), but what about simply turning your device off. Most mobile devices run IOS or Android so how can they function if the OS is not booted and running?

My theory: RF signals are for all intents and purposes a form of wireless energy propagating throughout the atmosphere and any conductor having any difference in electrical potential verses this RF energy will have a current induced in it, therefore is it not reasonable to conclude that a mobile device could be inadvertently capturing, processing with it's de-energized internal circuitry and then re-broadcasting a modulated signal that could be uniquely identified? Granted any such induced currents and resulting modulations would be exceedingly weak and likely easily lost in an ocean of static but assume that an organization such as the NSA might have some advanced technological capability to recognize and capture these signals.

I am anxious to hear your thoughts and theories.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin

Re: NSA Tracking of powered down cellphones and other wireless devices

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:57 pm