Decent HF-VHF indoor antenna

Discuss commercial and home made antennas.
X3nus

Decent HF-VHF indoor antenna

Post by X3nus » Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:17 pm

Hi everyone! I’m a beginner in SDR radios and currently find a lot of fun in scanning radio frequencies to find and identify various types of signals. Problem is - I'm living on a first floor in a city block, so I can't constantly place an indoor antenna outside, and therefore cannot make a full-sized antenna for receiving shortwave as well. That’s why I’m searching for a decent commercial indoor antenna to effectively cover the HF-VHF range which can be easily set it up near the window for scanning all mentioned frequencies with the ability to receive weak signals better.
There are many recommendations for a discone as a universal antenna, I’ve even found some indoor desktop versions of it (like this one, for example), but as far as I know they can't receive HF signals well, so it is probably not a good choice.
So far I've managed to find this antenna: MFJ-1022. Its nominal frequency range looks perfect, but looking at its short 50 cm telescopic antenna I have doubts that it actually can receive HF signals well. Also it's an active antenna, but does the amplifier actually help in a noisy indoor environment which is also surrounded by buildings from all sides? Also I've tried to find any decent indoor magnetic loop antenna since they are claimed to have better noise protection, but most of them cover very narrow band, and those having a good frequency coverage (like this, for example) are very pricey. Maybe you can suggest a cheaper one?