DIY QFH Antenna troubleshooting

Discuss commercial and home made antennas.
AnomalySmith

DIY QFH Antenna troubleshooting

Post by AnomalySmith » Sun Jul 10, 2016 2:01 pm

Hi everyone,

I recently planned to build my own QFH antenna matched to 137Mhz to listen on the NOAA weather satellites.
I wanted a copper tube as main material as it seems to be best at thoses frequencies than simple wire/coax, and finally decided following scrupulously this tutorial: http://hobitus.com/en/equipment/antenna/ (hoping this kind of links are allowed :) )

And now it's done and.. not working as expected...
I've done some tests on NOAA passing over me, and no signal at all at the expected satellite frequency even with high elevation (>70°) and clear view to sky.

My equipment are the following:
Receiver: HackRF One
SDR: GQRX
LNA: 27db gain @137Mhz

I use gpredict up-to-date to track NOAA satellites.

I wish have some of your advice and help to locate the problem, as I'm not an expert in this domain.
My last track was on the balun, is it critical?

Thanks in advance!

AnomalySmith.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin

Re: DIY QFH Antenna troubleshooting

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:19 am

It's hard to say what could be wrong without physically inspecting your antenna.

But does it pick up other frequencies, like broadcast FM? (Even though its tuned for 137 MHz it should still pick up other frequencies).

Could you be experiencing overload from other nearby stations? If there is a very strong signal like at broadcast FM it could block reception of the NOAA signal since the HackRF doesn't have very good dynamic range.

Rule out software problems. Are you sure that your gpredict has up to date kepler files? Confirm with an online tracker that the satellite is where gpredict says it is.

The balun is probably not critical, but it will help you get better reception.

AnomalySmith

Post by AnomalySmith » Mon Jul 11, 2016 8:00 am

Firstly, thank you for your reply!