need recommandation for better signal

Discuss commercial and home made antennas.
pikilin

need recommandation for better signal

Post by pikilin » Wed Aug 24, 2016 3:45 pm

Hi

i am new to this and my understanding is low, so forgive me if i say some strange stuff lol

i have new nooelec dongle (for the first time) and i love it, but i would like to get better reception and stronger signals that also will be able to pick up aircraft conversations and positions.

i am not looking for Antenna that will be out door, i just want to upgrade my dongle stock Antenna into something a bit stronger or more powerful at the same size or a bit bigger so i will be able to connect it to my phone or tablet even when i am out of my apartment if i want to take the radio kit with me.

Aussie Susan

Re: need recommandation for better signal

Post by Aussie Susan » Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:26 am

Antenna are funny beasts to get right and what you are asking for might be a little tricky (if I've understood your question correctly).
The most effective antenna are generally about 1/4 of the wavelength you are trying to receive. Aircraft conversations are all in AM and are from 108MHz to 137MHz. Therefore you are looking at an antenna of about 0.5m length as an ideal.
The problem with smaller antenna is that they are not resonant at the required frequencies and so they generally respond only to stronger signals. That is not to say that they don't work but just not as well.
If you want to pick up the signals from all around then you need an omni-direction antenna and perhaps the simplest is just a vertical working against a ground plane (that is often supplied by short wires sticking out from around the base of the antenna - or a car body for mobile antenna).
At least you are not looking to transmit which also makes the available options much broader for you as the requirements are not as strict.