Aisdeco2 help

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
sfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:10 pm

Aisdeco2 help

Post by sfx » Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:26 pm

When I try to run the Aisdeco2 .bat file to start it, it says RTLSDR_open(): no error
Press any key - I do - and it just quits.

What is wrong?

I have tried editing the .bat file, and also just running "as is" and the same thing happens.

Thanks

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2191
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by rtlsdrblog » Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:35 pm

Do you have the RTL-SDR installed on your system? e.g. does something like SDR# work?

Paste your .bat file text here.

sfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by sfx » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:51 pm

Yes, the RTL-SDR is installed and SDR# works great.

Here is the .bat file:

@echo off
cmd /c aisdeco2.exe --gain 38.6 --freq-correction 62 --freq 161975000 --freq 162025000 --net 30007 --udp 127.0.0.1:4159
PAUSE
exit

sfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by sfx » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:55 pm

Finally got it to work - it seems that I did not have the offset set correctly.

But thanks for your help.

sfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by sfx » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:54 pm

I spoke too soon. :cry:

I can not run aisdeco2 and sdr# at the same time.

I get a "usb_open error -3" in aisdeco2, when they are both running.

If I only run aisdeco2, the program seems to run OK.

Again, please help.

Thanks

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2191
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:41 am

Only one program can access the RTL-SDR at the same time. You can't have two programs trying to control it.

sfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by sfx » Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:43 pm

I see. So why does the tutorial have you go through all the different steps for setting up SDR#? I thought SDR# pipes the signal to aisdeco2 to be decoded.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2191
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:38 am

Ah okay I see the point of confusion.

The first part of that tutorial has you visibly check for AIS signals in SDR#. So if you can visibly see them on the spectrum, then you know that they are there and that you should be able to receive them. If you see nothing, then you need to upgrade/move your antenna etc. You can also use the visual FFT SDR# to determine the PPM offset if you don't have a TCXO dongle, and find the optimum gain setting that gives the best SNR, and avoids overload.

In the Aisdeco2 tutorial it mentions that it "directly connects to the RTL-SDR (requires no audio piping)". This is more desirable than piping audio, and it only requires you to open one program, and it can also then monitor both AIS channels easily.

If you use the alternative decoders like AISMon or ShipPlotter, then you'd need to pipe the audio of one channel from SDR#.

I'll edit the tutorial to be a little more clearer on this point.

sfx
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by sfx » Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:51 pm

Now I get it. Thanks for your help with this.

This is a wonderful website, please keep up the great work. It's gotten me back into DXing and other aspects of radio.

thienan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 10:04 pm

Re: Aisdeco2 help

Post by thienan » Fri May 26, 2017 10:11 pm

Hello
I have the same problem but in present case, for sure SDRSHARP isn't running.
I am using windows10. Zadig installed bulk in interface 0. SDRsharps works well
when I start aisdeco2 I receive a message

usb_open error -12
Error: rtlsdr_open(): No error
press to continue...

when I press anything the windows closes


aisdeco2.bat is as follows:
@echo off
cmd /c aisdeco2.exe --gain 42.1 --freq-correction 61 --freq 161975000 --freq 162025000 --net 30007 --udp 127.0.0.1:4159
PAUSE
exit

thank you for your help

Post Reply