Only picking up FM? (Diff setup than other post)

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
DHLabs17
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:06 am

Only picking up FM? (Diff setup than other post)

Post by DHLabs17 » Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:42 am

Brand new SDR user here, but not new to working with RF.

Picked up an antenna assembly from Amazon.

Got SDR# up and running, yet all I'm seeing is FM radio transmissions... I live very close to an active airfield, so I also went looking for ADS-B transmissions, ATIS, Tower comms, VOR/ILS, Air-to-air comms, anything, and coming up completly empty handed outside of radio stations ~90-110 mhz. Additionally I live near the coast, so I'd expect to also see some kind of marine comms as well, but again nada.

I'm sure it's probably something I'm doing but I haven't found any good resources to tell me what I'm doing wrong. Anyone have any ideas? If any data or screenshots are needed just comment and I'll provide.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2330
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Only picking up FM? (Diff setup than other post)

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:14 am

Did you remember to adjust the RF gain settings? Make sure all automatic gain settings are off and just use manual gain. Post some screenshots of your settings too.

Also FM signals are usually many times stronger than other signals, so they will always come in better. Make sure the antenna is outside when trying and ideally not blocked by anything.

bobasaurus
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:36 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Only picking up FM? (Diff setup than other post)

Post by bobasaurus » Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:01 am

Might need an FM bandstop block?

Post Reply