Dropped samples

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
Astro-Boy
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 4:12 pm

Dropped samples

Post by Astro-Boy » Fri May 18, 2018 4:28 pm

Hiya

System :

AMD Phenom x4 Black edition 9850, 24Gig ram, auto speed up to 4.1GHz. Windows 10 professional latest creator update.

I have 4 v3 rtl-sdr dongles which I have connected individually to USB2 and USB3 ports, USB2 and USB3 via a hub both single and all 4.

I have successfully installed the drivers, renamed the dongle serial numbers and they are recognised by software.

However I can't run a sample rate on any of them in any of the above combinations above 1.0Mbs without getting a massive continuous packet loss shown by rtl_test -s 1000000 -d serial number.

I have googled extensively and have found no clear answer to this problem. Surely a 8 thread processor running over 2GHz should be able to run one dongle at 2.4Mbs??

Any suggestions please - ?

Cheers

tim_rtd
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Dropped samples

Post by tim_rtd » Sun May 20, 2018 1:16 am

-d is not a ser # .....even if you've reprogrammed the ser # of each new dongle
The # that's listed on the left when you do a rtL_test is the -d #.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2321
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Dropped samples

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun May 20, 2018 9:08 am

rtl_test can sometimes be a little buggy.

Are you able to test with an actual program like SDR#? Packet loss will be obvious with audio blips and blanks on the waterfall.

Post Reply