Setting up SDR#

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
Sparky94
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:54 pm

Setting up SDR#

Post by Sparky94 » Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:57 pm

Hi all,

Hope you are all well. :)

I've just bought this SDR dongle :http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/140803976327? and downloaded SDR#. However, when I go to SDR# it freezes and displays the message:

A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not respond after a period of time.

What could be the problem here? I am running Win 8.1.

Many thanks for your time,

Sparky

G7MRV
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:55 am

Re: Setting up SDR#

Post by G7MRV » Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:05 pm

I had the same problem initially, and then realised it was looking for a TCP/IP connected device. This was the only option SDR# gave me.

I then reread the quick start guide here http://www.rtl-sdr.com/rtl-sdr-quick-start-guide/

and followed the instructions marked by the big red arrow! (probably best to remove the original zadic/SDR# install first)

Once i'd done that, I had the option to select the USB connected device, and it started working.

Be aware that these beasts will pick up all the crud from the PC, so try and position it a good distance away, and that the supplied antenna is utterly abysmal.

agenore11
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:13 pm

Re: Setting up SDR#

Post by agenore11 » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:17 pm

I have a problem on linux installing SDR#, when I type in

svn co https://subversion.assembla.com/svn/sdrsharp/trunk sdrsharp

it ask me for user and password

I also try to register into assemblea.com but it doesn't work: I search the web for solution and I find this:

http://www.reddit.com/r/RTLSDR/comments ... on_mac_os/

That got my same problem without solution for now....

Any solution here?

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Setting up SDR#

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Jul 07, 2014 1:26 am

Sparky94: As G7MRV has said, it sounds like you've selected RTL-SDR/TCP, when in fact you should be choosing RTL-SDR/USB in the drop down menu.

agenore11: Unfortunately, SDR# has closed its code repositories to the public due to code theft. I believe the developer has said that he's stopping Linux support on the newer versions too. So you're stuck with having to use Windows. It might be possible to get it to work using Wine, through I haven't tried that before.

Post Reply