Page 2 of 2

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:11 am
by jamesbond
Alright i recieved a new SDR in the mail and my computer still refuses to recognise it.
I also tried both sticks on a different computer and they worked fine. any ideas? right now i'm thinking the usb controller is being funny but all my other usb devices are ok

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:13 pm
by jamesbond
I managed to solve this problem by downloading DX888's .zip file and following the instructions
viewtopic.php?t=4411
Apparently this new generation of hardware doesn't play nice with windows 7

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:35 pm
by Pete Higgins
I had the same problem after I downloaded the latest version of SDR# (1.0.0.1702) and tried to run it in a fresh install of Win 10 v1903. "install-rtlsdr.bat" did not install "rtlsdr.dll" in the sdrsharp-x86 directory.
I copied "rtlsdr.dll" from an older working SDR# directory and all was well with the 1702 release!

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:04 am
by qrp
if you have trouble with RTLSDR on a modern motherboard with USB3 controllers, try to place rtlsdr.dll from my ExtIO plugin: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4710&start=10#p11551

I build it from the latest RC version of libusb and it should works ok on such motherboards, because this bug is fixed in the latest versions.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:21 pm
by radioquaderno
Hi, I'm trying to get a RTL-SDR unit working with SDR# on Win10 64bits. I followed (multiple times...) all the recommended steps of the quick start guide, all seems to go fine, but in the end SDR# continue to give me the "Device not selected" error. Then I tried to run rtl_test. Both the x32 and x64 versions produce the same behavior: on first execution, just after having plugged the USB cable from the RTL-SDR unit into an USB port on the PC, I get the following output:
C:\Users\Daniele\Desktop\RelWithDebInfo\rtl-sdr-release\x64>rtl_test
Found 1 device(s):
0: Realtek, RTL2838UHIDIR, SN: 00000001

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U OEM
Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
r82xx_write: i2c wr failed=-9 reg=1a len=7
r82xx_write: i2c wr failed=-9 reg=0c len=1
r82xx_init: failed=-9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
Supported gain values (29): 0.0 0.9 1.4 2.7 3.7 7.7 8.7 12.5 14.4 15.7 16.6 19.7 20.7 22.9 25.4 28.0 29.7 32.8 33.8 36.4 37.2 38.6 40.2 42.1 43.4 43.9 44.5 48.0 49.6
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
WARNING: Failed to set sample rate.
rtlsdr_demod_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_demod_read_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_write_reg failed with -9
rtlsdr_write_reg failed with -9

Info: This tool will continuously read from the device, and report if
samples get lost. If you observe no further output, everything is fine.

Reading samples in async mode...
cb transfer status: 4, canceling...

Library error 0, exiting...

Then if I execute rtl_test again, it gives me the following output:

C:\Users\Daniele\Desktop\RelWithDebInfo\rtl-sdr-release\x64>rtl_test
Found 1 device(s):
0: , , SN:

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U OEM
usb_claim_interface error -5
Failed to open rtlsdr device #0.

What could it be the problem here?

Best regards

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:13 pm
by radioquaderno
The corresponding behavior of SDR# is that:
on USB cable insertion into the USB port (any), if I press the "Start" button on the SDR# interface it says "1 compatible devices have been found but are all busy".
Then if I press "Start" again it says "No device selected".
I'm going to try on another PC I have, just to verify if it is a hardware-related problem.

Best regards