Page 1 of 2

SDR# no device selected

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:43 am
by jamesbond
I've been trying to get SDR# to recognise my tuner but it won't appear in the dropdown menu, i tried uninstalling and reinstalling the winusb driver but nothing i try seems to work. I have rtlsdr.dll in the sdrsharp folder and i'm not accidentally installing drivers to the wrong usb device. Anyone have some ideas? Only other thing i could think of is the RTL tuner itself is faulty but i've used it a few times before without issue. Thanks
Image
Image
Image

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:50 am
by rtlsdrblog
Can you try other USB ports? Or another PC? If it's not working on another PC maybe it failed.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:02 pm
by jamesbond
I've tried front and back panel USB and i've tried using a USB 2.0 port. unfortunately i don't have another PC to test with. the usb itself looks ok although it gets really warm just idling

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:20 am
by greg51
I'm having exactly the same problem and error message. I received a new RTL-SDR V3 today. I have it working with a DAB+ program just fine (qt-dab). I downloaded the latest version of SDR# from airspy.com and also the latest version of zardig (2.4). Any ideas of what to try next? It seems like a software compatibilty issue, should I try installing an older version of SDR# ?

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:58 am
by greg51
OK its working now. This may help @jamesbond, I went back and read the steps in rtl-sdr quick start guide and saw the note about requiring .NET 4.6 so I followed the link and downloaded .NET 4.7 from Microsoft site. I then and realised that I hadn't run "install-rtlsdr" and followed that process which probably has not necessary because the driver was not changed during the process (just re-installed). Also should mention that I'm running Win 7 SP1. So I suspect my real issue was not having an updated .NET version. Listening to solid FM signal right now. Good luck @jamesbond.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:01 pm
by rtlsdrblog
I think it was mostly likely that you didn't run install-rtlsdr.bat. Everytime you reinstall the software you need to run this to download the RTL-SDR drivers. They aren't included in the default SDR# package due to software licencing reasons.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:22 pm
by JustinS
I'm having a similar problem. I have the rtlsdr.dll file in the SDR# folder and the WinUSB(v6.1.7600.16385) installled to the dongle but I'm still getting the No Device Selected prompt when I hit the play button in SDR#. I'm on Windows 10 as well so NET 4.7 is already installed.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:26 pm
by JustinS
Also, the install-rtlsdr.bat file does nothing when I run it.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:03 pm
by JustinS
Update: I solved my problem by using the x32 rtlsdr.dll instead of the x64 version despite running 64bit Win10.

Re: SDR# no device selected

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:52 pm
by jamesbond
It might be the device because rtl-test.exe can't see it either. I'll wait until i get my hands on another one and see what happens