Do you need an upconverter for Sw listening?

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
Adamsk110
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:59 am

Do you need an upconverter for Sw listening?

Post by Adamsk110 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:02 am

I just want to listen to MW and SW. But i have heard of that you need a upconverter. Do you really need that or is it just for perfection? I am going to listen from 1000 kHz to around 20-30 MHz. I am talking about the version 3.0
Please reply

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2738
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Do you need an upconverter for Sw listening?

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:42 am

With a our RTL-SDR Blog V3, you don't need an upconverter as you can use direct sampling mode. But an upconverter could get you better RX performance especially if you have strong interfering signals.

Adamsk110
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:59 am

Re: Do you need an upconverter for Sw listening?

Post by Adamsk110 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:26 am

Thanks a real answer! I could not find a real answer.

Post Reply