Can't get driver to work with Win 8.1 64b

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
Dumbme
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:09 am

Can't get driver to work with Win 8.1 64b

Post by Dumbme » Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:23 am

I need help getting the your dongle to work with my win 8.1 laptop(with usb 3.0 ports).
I followed the Quick start guide... airspy.com>core files>DL sdr#>run bat file>>>>>> does not work
Noticed that the Airspy SDR# version is 1.0
I need this to work on my Win 8.1 machine, anyone please help

Noticed the following the Airspy SDR# version 1 click gear icon the top drop down box is greyed out and reads e4000 above grey box
Using SDR# version 2.o found elsewhere give an error that 2 devices are busy.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2784
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Can't get driver to work with Win 8.1 64b

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:52 am

So the bat file does not work? Where did you copy the SDR# files to? Did a file called rtlsdr.dll download from the bat file?

See if the last bullet point on the troubleshooting guide at http://www.rtl-sdr.com/rtl-sdr-quick-start-guide/ helps you.

Dumbme
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:09 am

Re: Can't get driver to work with Win 8.1 64b

Post by Dumbme » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:09 pm

After reading your reply I followed the bullet point
I believe a rtlsdr.dll was downloaded via bat file

The change I noticed that is new , Under Device Manager >>LibusbK USB Devices>Bulk-in, Interface(Interface 1)
also as before under Device manger>>Universal serial Bus Service>Bulk-in, Interface

Unplug sdr ... plug in sdr results in above
What is sdrsharp.exe.config
What version of sdrsharp.exe will result from this?

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2784
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Can't get driver to work with Win 8.1 64b

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:44 am

Interface 1 is the IR LED, which is not used for RTL-SDR.

Interface 0 is the actual RTL-SDR.

sdrsharp.exe.config is not important in getting it to work, it just stores the SDR# GUI settings. If you download from SDR# you will receive the latest version 1.0.0.1430.

What exact dongle do you have?

Is it possible for you to try with other software as well, such as CubicSDR, HDSDR or SDR-Console?

Post Reply