Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Get help identifying an unknown signal.
Post Reply
User avatar
m_a_x
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:13 pm

Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by m_a_x » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:04 am

Hi, i started receiving radiosondes, i use SondeMonitor to decode them.
I receive one transmitting at 400.996 MHz, supposed to be type M10 but i cannot decode it.
The receiving time is compatible with radiosondes usually launched at 12.00z and 0.00z
I am in Italy. This frequency is not normally used from sites in this area. The closest site using M10 standard is in Ajaccio (F).
Here is the audio recording https://instaud.io/1wKm
and this is the waterfall https://pasteboard.co/GXGPWFm.jpg

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1823
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:25 am

How are you sending audio to sondemonitor? Check the volume settings, and try NFM with the bandwidth only on the center signal. WFM might not work.

User avatar
m_a_x
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:13 pm

Re: Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by m_a_x » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:51 am

Hi, audio settings are ok, i decoded RS41 sondes minutes before and after without problem.
I also tried increasing the SDR# volume, and changing the bandwidth, moving left-right. Tried both with NFM and WFM.
If you use Sondemonitor please try with the audio recording. The recording is NFM. with about 30 KHz BW

User avatar
m_a_x
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:13 pm

Re: Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by m_a_x » Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:11 pm

Unbelieveble, i can decode from this youtube video but not from the two recordings
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzPJZeGJqAM

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1823
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:06 am

Try this alternative software instead

https://github.com/rs1729/RS

In SDR# or whatever receiving software that you are using double check that all audio processing settings are disabled. e.g. noise reduction, filtering etc. That might be causing issues for you.

User avatar
m_a_x
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:13 pm

Re: Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by m_a_x » Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:28 am

Problem solved with a new updated version that will be released soon
There is a new modified M10 protocol called M10new

User avatar
m_a_x
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:13 pm

Re: Cannot decode this (supposed to be radiosonde M10)

Post by m_a_x » Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:28 pm

Solved with SondeMonitor v.6.2.1.6 now available for download.

Post Reply