90 deg and Sample Size

Discuss KerberosSDR - 4x Coherent RTL-SDR
Post Reply
mdacosta
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:27 pm

90 deg and Sample Size

Post by mdacosta » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:15 pm

Can someone explain the "Calibrate 90 deg" button under the DOA Estimation tab.

Also, under the same tab, the "Sample Size" box is missing from the web page.

Thanks all!

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: 90 deg and Sample Size

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:43 pm

Tamas added the calibrate 90 button, but it's currently not fully complete, so I might actually remove it from the next version.

The idea is you could have an external signal source that you place at 90 deg of your antenna array, and calibrate with that. Using an external source would remove any skew from the antennas/cables etc. Currently it seems to calibrate at 0deg though.

The sample size boxes are placeholders at the moment, and do nothing. In a future version that someone is working on we'll be able to set the sample size, but at the moment it's fixed to the block size.

mdacosta
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:27 pm

Re: 90 deg and Sample Size

Post by mdacosta » Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:59 pm

:?: Hum...playing with the sample size boxe I do see a change, If I leave it at the defaulted 15 the Compass is very fast and point in many directions and at 5 is moving more slowly and less prone to wrong readings.

Post Reply