RTLSDR2832U IF bandwidth

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
ARHasani
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 9:38 am

RTLSDR2832U IF bandwidth

Post by ARHasani » Wed May 01, 2019 10:14 am

Dear friends,
I'd like to know whether the bandwidth of the RF signal selected by the RTL-SDR tuner to be converted to IF band is fixed or adjustable? If it is fixed, how much is its value exactly?
Are the bandwidth values listed in the following page
https://www.rtl-sdr.com/about-rtl-sdr/
are the IF bandwidth of various SDRs?
And if it is, why it is only 3.2 MHz for R820T? The R820T tuner was primarily used for decoding DVB-T signals which have the bandwidth of 5-8 MHz. So 3.2 MHz is not big enough for that purpose.

hotpaw2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: RTLSDR2832U IF bandwidth

Post by hotpaw2 » Wed May 01, 2019 3:13 pm

The 3.2 MHz bandwidth maximum seems to be a limitation of the RTL2832's back-end digital logic, not the front-end analog bandwidth or anything to do with the R820T.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTLSDR2832U IF bandwidth

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu May 02, 2019 3:55 am

The tuner can do up to 10 MHz, have a look at the Airspy it's the same tuner.

But the RTL2832U chip can only do 3.2 MHz in IQ mode. The other mode uses internal demodulators for DVB-T TV, it's not the same as the IQ output mode.

Post Reply