Update rate not showing

Discuss KerberosSDR - 4x Coherent RTL-SDR
TechCom
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by TechCom » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:05 pm

At least 2.5amps.
I had a wall wart and a battery pack.
Both rated for 2.5.
Don't remember which I had hooked up to which, but the battery pack probably was hooked up to the SDR since it would put out more than it's rating from my experience.

stasia327
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:35 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by stasia327 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:42 pm

Well I'm positive I'm getting enough power. Here's another thing. It's recommended to connect the kerberos with the pi before booting up the pi but if I do so, I cannot turn all 4 antennas on because the CPU usage jumps up to 80%+ and the whole system freezes

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:34 am

stasia327 wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:42 pm
Well I'm positive I'm getting enough power. Here's another thing. It's recommended to connect the kerberos with the pi before booting up the pi but if I do so, I cannot turn all 4 antennas on because the CPU usage jumps up to 80%+ and the whole system freezes
Ah well if you're not connecting the KerberosSDR to the Pi3 before booting then that is definitely the problem. On the images the software loads on boot and connects to the RTL-SDRs. If it's not plugged in it will not be able to connect, and there is no way for it to connect after the software loads.

If you really have to, you can try closing the software, then plugging the unit in, then restarting it manually.

But the real question is why is your Pi3 freezing on boot when it's plugged in. That is not normal. Are you sure that your Pi3 is getting enough power with a high quality 3A supply? The KerberosSDR might be fully powered, but the Pi3 has problems if it itself cannot get enough power, since then the CPU will throttle down.

stasia327
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:35 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by stasia327 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:22 pm

So I always have the kerberos connected to my pi before boot up but if I have all 4 switches on before boot up the whole pi freezes. If I leave them off(while connected), wait for the pi to boot, then turn all of them on everything is fine in terms of system freezes - however, even in this procedure I don't get any results. I know all 4 SDRs are connected to the pi by simply doing an lsusb. :(

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by rtlsdrblog » Fri Jun 21, 2019 5:25 am

stasia327 wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:22 pm
So I always have the kerberos connected to my pi before boot up but if I have all 4 switches on before boot up the whole pi freezes. If I leave them off(while connected), wait for the pi to boot, then turn all of them on everything is fine in terms of system freezes - however, even in this procedure I don't get any results. I know all 4 SDRs are connected to the pi by simply doing an lsusb. :(
After boot, what procedure do you go through? I would close the GUI by clicking exit, then test each unit with rtl_test simultaenously by using 4 terminal windows.

Then go into the kerberossdr folder in a terminal and do a ./run.sh.

It is strange that your Pi freezes on boot though, I have not seen that issue before. What power supply are you using on the Pi3?

stasia327
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:35 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by stasia327 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:35 pm

Ahhh here's something - I get a " library error -5" right after I hit enter for the 4th rtl_test
Attachments
scr.png
scr.png (490.99 KiB) Viewed 1376 times

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:05 am

stasia327 wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:35 pm
Ahhh here's something - I get a " library error -5" right after I hit enter for the 4th rtl_test
And each tuner runs fine individually right? If so, that seems to confirm that it's a power issue. The final tuner activating causes them all to crash because the power draw becomes too high for your supply.

I don't think you mentioned it before, but what type of power supplies are you using for the Pi3 and KerberosSDR?

stasia327
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:35 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by stasia327 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:25 am

I'm just plugging an 2.5A adapter onto a power strip.
I've also tested onto another pi (3B) and the same thing happens but it fails on the third tuner test
- is it my cables perhaps?
Last edited by stasia327 on Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stasia327
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:35 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by stasia327 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:03 pm

I also tried running it with an Ubuntu 16 VM on my Mac
Here's what I got:
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 1.02.08 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 1.02.08 PM.png (507.85 KiB) Viewed 1150 times

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Update rate not showing

Post by rtlsdrblog » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:35 am

stasia327 wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:25 am
I'm just plugging an 2.5A adapter onto a power strip.
I've also tested onto another pi (3B) and the same thing happens but it fails on the third tuner test
- is it my cables perhaps?
So 2.5A to the Pi3? What supply is going to the Kerberos?

What length of cable you using? Make sure it's a short high quality cable that can handle the high data transfer.

Post Reply