AIS

Show off any of your RTL-SDR or cheap SDR related projects.
xynium
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:18 pm

AIS

Post by xynium » Thu May 29, 2014 12:28 pm

https://sites.google.com/site/f4eyuradi ... deur-d-ais

PNAIS was made to send AIS frame from VHF to a charting software via a serial NMEA compatible port (comOcom).

73 JP

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2323
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: AIS

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu May 29, 2014 10:33 pm

Looks good but I cannot download the zip file, it just says the file is invalid.

xynium
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: AIS

Post by xynium » Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:34 pm

There was a probleme, all file where not in the zip. :oops:

So new link:
https://sites.google.com/site/f4eyuradio/ais-decoder

and new version, now NMEA is send via UDP.

73 FM4PN

[email protected]

DualC
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: AIS

Post by DualC » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:13 pm

Will it be en English version of this software, as my France are not good at all.

And how do i know if the program even work, .. do i have to connect it to a plotter software to accouly see the messages.?

/M

xynium
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: AIS

Post by xynium » Thu Jul 10, 2014 11:43 am

In the days to come, i will build a 100% english version.
Once launched you will immediatly have on the status bar a counter in % -> it should show 100% whitch mean the output from the RTL2832
is fully treated in real time. If the computer is not fast enought it will show less than 100%.

If you are in view of an harbour or open sea within second the software window show an activity: NMEA sentences or type of error.

I use a SVEON st20 adapter, with a low antenna not tuned for this frequency, and the result is quite good.
Started as an experiment, i was not beliving to do has much with a 8bits converter.



73 FM4PN

DualC
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: AIS

Post by DualC » Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:07 pm

Ok thx for that..

I have tested it out, and i dont get any messages at all, .. maybee its my own fault or another things.

I have used SDR# or SDR-Console with Shipplotter and got good result but not with ur program.. :/

Another thing, .. how is the "gain" and PPM settings in the program?, .. can i change it some how?

/M

xynium
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: AIS

Post by xynium » Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:57 pm

Ok,
Just after launching and having press "Start" button, on the status bar should be display a number that quickly reach 100%.
If not there is a major problem, strange if you can run sdr#.

RTL2832 setting : sample rate is 240ksps, that is the minimun, for an economy of processor work. Gain is set to Automatic, and can't be changed. As we are on NFM small frequency shift from the tuner should not be a problem.

It's normaly plug "start" and play...

73 FM4PN

DualC
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: AIS

Post by DualC » Fri Jul 11, 2014 6:44 am

Thx for the answer...

Yeah i let it run for some time yesterday, but the only things i got was errors, :/

I also used OpenCPN to accouly see if i got some messages, .. but nada .. nothing at all.. :/

/M

xynium
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: AIS

Post by xynium » Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:15 am

HI,
It seem your antenna collect a too weak signal.
At 9600bds the signal should be very strong. Having numerous error is normal.

When a correct decoding occur it is displayed in the window.

Some stations transmit only each 5 minutes, so counting on some error, the decoder should run 30minutes to get a photo of the fleet.

I am connected to http://www.marinetraffic.com, station 2156 (some hour per day).

73 FM4PN

Dmitry Zhadan
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: AIS

Post by Dmitry Zhadan » Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:09 pm

Good day.

IS PNAIS use some sort of frequency calibration? If not, it's possible add to PNAIS input field for frequency correction value (ppm).

SY, Dmitry.

Post Reply