RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
vk4tec
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:12 am

RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by vk4tec » Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:44 am

Hello

I have RTL-SDR dump1090 running on windows

http://127.0.0.1:8080 just returns the clocks, no maps

Internet connection ok

ideas ?

Andrew

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by rtlsdrblog » Fri Apr 29, 2016 4:59 am

Have a look at the note I made under dump1090 on the tutorial I wrote here http://www.rtl-sdr.com/adsb-aircraft-ra ... h-rtl-sdr/.

I'm not sure if this is still unfixed, or if there is a newer branch that fixes it, but it sounds like your problem.

OK1UNL
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:46 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 AGC windows

Post by OK1UNL » Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:58 pm

Hi All,
i am running Flightaware dongle Prostick Plus sw DUMP1090 under Win7.
So, can you tell me how to set AGC constant in sw DUMP1090 ( Windows)???
Me see planes on 450kms cca, but strong signals from local flight corridor are problematic.

Under Linux (Flightaware) is a very goog described how to setting up AGC, but no inform about Windows variant.

THNX for advice
Good luck
Ladislav

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 AGC windows

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:43 pm

OK1UNL wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:58 pm
Hi All,
i am running Flightaware dongle Prostick Plus sw DUMP1090 under Win7.
So, can you tell me how to set AGC constant in sw DUMP1090 ( Windows)???
Me see planes on 450kms cca, but strong signals from local flight corridor are problematic.

Under Linux (Flightaware) is a very goog described how to setting up AGC, but no inform about Windows variant.

THNX for advice
Good luck
Ladislav
You can use dump1090 --help to see a list of all the flags. If you want to set the gain to a manual fixed value then you can use the --gain flag. E.g. --gain 40

OK1UNL
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:46 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by OK1UNL » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:36 am

TNX Admin.
I will try this one setup. For example Beast receiver does not use AGC.
AGC causes delay.
What constant me must setting AGC OFF ???

Will be in near future any possibility buy Flightaware Prostick Plus in metal (Al) enclosure like RTL-SDR v.3 ??

Me tested home made metal enclosure and bringig lower noise, received really very weak signals from planes.

Thanks friends.
Good luck
OK1UNL

Username
Posts: 507
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by Username » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:08 pm

i can recomment Modesdeco2.

Do you you use an Filter? In my case I use Filter -> LNA -> Dongle.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:12 am

OK1UNL wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:36 am
TNX Admin.
I will try this one setup. For example Beast receiver does not use AGC.
AGC causes delay.
What constant me must setting AGC OFF ???

Will be in near future any possibility buy Flightaware Prostick Plus in metal (Al) enclosure like RTL-SDR v.3 ??

Me tested home made metal enclosure and bringig lower noise, received really very weak signals from planes.

Thanks friends.
Good luck
OK1UNL
We used to sell the metal case separately, but it was not popular. We may bring it back next year, but no guarantees just yet.

OK1UNL
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:46 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by OK1UNL » Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:36 pm

Username wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:08 pm
i can recomment Modesdeco2.

Do you you use an Filter? In my case I use Filter -> LNA -> Dongle.
Me using external BPF B=3MHz - RF amplifier 20dB - 10mtrs LMR240 cable and Dongle (prostick Plus)

Here is a limiting dynamic range of all RTL-SDR based dongles (cca 40dB)
Me measured "blue dongle" by RTL1090 sw. LNA gain are 22,9dB, better than me expected.

ModeSdeco2 have a "fault" Yes I agree, maybe interesting software, but.............
"Error: 14 unable to open database file"
So me thinking it is SQL database problem, I am not programer.
Have you any idea or advice??? Big thanks!!!

Together with Flightaware these sw work OK.
RTL1090 woks well
DUMP1090 wors well
Multipsk works well
I was surprised how excellently works with Android app.
especially ADSB Avare and me immediatelly paid "Profi" version.
( Huawei Mate9 Pro + Android 7.0 + OTG cable)

ADSBSpy - after "clean up" by author doesnot support "FA blue dongle"

Me wrapped FA blue dongle into AL foil and result was here: lover noise in spectrum, weak signals received
If will be sold these dongles in Alu enclosure (like RTL-SDR v.3) FA blue dongle is the best ADSB receiver in class

How much raised price FA dongles with metal enclosure and thermal pad?? A few dollars??
For "old" customers is a simple solution externally buy metal enclosure here in webshop rtl-sdr.com and replace it.

After trying and compare I am able to say, "FA blue dongle" is a better than Airspy R2 in price 168 USD!!!
Airspy R2 loosing sensitivity on freq 1000MHz and higher.

THNX for answer
Good luck from Czech republic
Ladislav
A.R.S. OK1UNL

Username
Posts: 507
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by Username » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:15 pm

Good luck from Czech republic
I am from Vienna. :D
Do you share?

OK1UNL
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:46 pm

Re: RTL-SDR dump1090 windows

Post by OK1UNL » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:06 pm

yess, I am from Pardubice (Pardubitz) CZ. :D

Ladislav alias OK1UNL

Post Reply