RTL-SDR Dongle

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
dominover
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:03 am

RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by dominover » Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:07 am

I'm in the process of looking for a RTL-SDR dongle to use with a pc or phone and have no idea what to choose. If I'm going to use it on a phone it will need to be small and portable but effective.

Can anyone suggest a decent RTL-SDR dongle with the widest possible frequency range?

Thanks :?:

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:37 am

Look for R820T2 dongles. The nano sized ones (about 1cm x 1cm) are probably the best for phones and there's a very good low power one by Stratux on our store at www.rtl-sdr.com/store, although those have no enclosure. See the post here http://www.rtl-sdr.com/low-power-rtl-sd ... ble-store/.

If you need one with an enclosure Nooelec sell a nano one, but according to some tests done by the Stratux guy it actually performs worse than the generic dongles. So at the moment the best nano dongle is one like this https://www.amazon.com/ADSRO-RTL-SDR-Re ... rds=rtlsdr. Unless you need a TCXO, then the Nooelec one is the only choice.

For PC, i'll recommend our RTL-SDR Blog V3 dongles of course! Can be used on a phone too, but it can be more cumbersome.

dominover
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:03 am

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by dominover » Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:10 am

I wanted one specifically for radio scanning with the widest possible frequency range.
For example.

100KHz-1.7GHz VHF UHF Band RTL.SDR

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/100KHz-1-7GH ... SwQYZWxarX


These are large and chunky but if that's what it takes to get this range of frequencies then that's what I need.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:56 am

The V3 can go down to 500 kHz, but if you need LF/VLF then those will do. You might consider purchasing one of those that use an upconverter instead as they'd give slightly better HF performance, but they do cost a bit more.

hotpaw2
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:07 pm

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by hotpaw2 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:51 pm

The RTL-SDR dongles that work with Android phones (plus an OTG cable) can drain a mobile phone's battery in less than an hour. The E4000 dongles use less power, so possibly might allow some battery life.

The only ways I've found to connect an RTL-SDR to a (stock iOS) iPhone is over a network plus using a Raspberry Pi's (3 or Zero) USB port and running rtl_tcp as the interface relay between the Pi and the iPhone. The network can either be over WiFi, or hardwired using Apple's Lightning Camera Connection kit with their USB to Ethernet dongle. Then you can plug the RTL-SDR into the Pi into Ethernet into an iPhone and stream IQ data at higher sample rates than your WiFi might support reliably. There are a few SDR apps for the iPhone written in Swift (still under development; could possibly hit the App store in maybe a few weeks or months, if Apple approves).

ross564
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:29 pm

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by ross564 » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:57 pm

rtlsdrblog wrote:The V3 can go down to 500 kHz, but if you need LF/VLF then those will do. You might consider purchasing one of those that use an upconverter instead as they'd give slightly better HF performance, but they do cost a bit more.
Hello

Can I find upconverter ones on ebay?

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1356
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Jul 09, 2017 2:09 am

ross564 wrote:
rtlsdrblog wrote:The V3 can go down to 500 kHz, but if you need LF/VLF then those will do. You might consider purchasing one of those that use an upconverter instead as they'd give slightly better HF performance, but they do cost a bit more.
Hello

Can I find upconverter ones on ebay?
Yes, there are upconverter based ones available on eBay. Just need to check the description to see if it uses an upconverter or direct sampling mode.

Username
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: RTL-SDR Dongle

Post by Username » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:27 am

pls note your phone must support OTG the cheap one dont do this. :cry:

Post Reply