SOLVED! Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
larrystein
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:15 am

SOLVED! Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by larrystein » Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:32 am

I am using Linux Mint 18.2 (fresh install) + updates.

I installed ONLY Kaffeine and Chrome.

TV dongle (Astrometa DVB-T2) working fine in Kaffeine.

Installed RTL-SDR from repo.

Now TV dongle no longer fully recognised and Kaffeine cannot find it.

Dmesg shows only the last few lines I normally get when plugging in the TV dongle.

How can I have my cake and eat it also?

Please help?

Thanks

Larry
Last edited by larrystein on Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1674
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:29 am

I think the Astrometa DVB-T2 is also a RTL2832U based stick. The SDR drivers purposely unload the TV drivers using a blacklist.

Have a look in /etc/modprobe.d and see if there is a blacklist file for the RTL2832U. If there is delete it.

Then next time when you want to play with SDR, just type sudo rmmod dvb_usb_rtl28xxu first to unload the TV driver.

larrystein
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:15 am

Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by larrystein » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:31 pm

Thanks for that.

I'll look into it after my big RTL-SDR arrives.

I just wanted to check out the SW first.

Larry

neuron
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 10:48 pm

Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by neuron » Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:42 pm

larrystein wrote:I am using Linux Mint 18.2 (fresh install) + updates.

I installed ONLY Kaffeine and Chrome.

TV dongle (Astrometa DVB-T2) working fine in Kaffeine.

Installed RTL-SDR from repo.

Now TV dongle no longer fully recognised and Kaffeine cannot find it.
Hi,

Some parts use DVB ... some app use librtlsdr.

If you want use Kaffeine, VLC, MPlayer and other App .

sudo mv -iv /etc/modprobe.d/rtlxxxxxxxx.conf <home>/your_name/.
reboot




If you want use gqrx,
http://cubicsdr.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... indow.html

or other SDR App

sudo cp -iv <home>/your_name/rtlxxxxxxxx.conf /etc/modprobe.d/.
reboot

I'm an Linux Admin and Prof. if you want more tutorials or in dept manuals please provide
hardware and I can help more.

At moment any sdr RTL, I can get several channels 5xxx MHz, 7xxx, 15xxx MHz
with software.

Best regards
Ruy

larrystein
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:15 am

Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by larrystein » Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:55 am

So, you're saying I cannot run DVB-T2 and RTL-SDR together, correct?

Larry

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1674
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:23 am

larrystein wrote:So, you're saying I cannot run DVB-T2 and RTL-SDR together, correct?

Larry
Yes you'll need to unload and reload the SDR/TV drivers depending on what you're doing, unless there's some Linux magic that can be used to choose the drivers automatically.

larrystein
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:15 am

Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by larrystein » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:35 am

This is bugging me somewhat!

Firstly, I cannot believe I am about to type this but... I cannot believe that Linux is INCAPABLE of something Windows® does out of the box!

In Windows 10®, without any finagling mind you, I am able to have the RTL-SDR in SDR# in 1 monitor and the DVB-T2 in another app on another monitor with the sound from both going to different outputs.

Why will Linux not allow this?

And if it is possible, please tell me how I can make it happen in Linux Mint?

Thanks again

Larry

larrystein
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:15 am

SOLVED! Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by larrystein » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:26 am

I've found a way to get both my cake and eat it. Sorry to say but you guys were WRONG!

I installed GQRX as explained on their website [url]]http://gqrx.dk/download/install-ubuntu [/url .

Now I can record TV on 1 device and I can listen to my RTL-SDR device at the same time!

YEH!

Larry

neuron
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 10:48 pm

Re: SOLVED! Re: Linux, install, tv device stopped working, h

Post by neuron » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:49 pm

larrystein wrote:I've found a way to get both my cake and eat it. Sorry to say but you guys were WRONG!

I installed GQRX as explained on their website [url]]http://gqrx.dk/download/install-ubuntu [/url .

Now I can record TV on 1 device and I can listen to my RTL-SDR device at the same time!

YEH!

Larry
Hum ... you can receive ex: 55 MHz in APP and see a DVB-T in Another?

Post the Pic or the JPG we can see conf. !!!

Regards,
Ruy

W1ABA
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:05 pm

Re: SOLVED! Linux, install, tv device stopped working, help?

Post by W1ABA » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:14 pm

Larry et al,

Linux Mint supports Synaptic Manager. You might have to blacklist the stock driver.

But, from Synaptic, search for gqrx and mark it for installation. It will download all drivers and many utility programs and related files-I think there was around 160 different packages and lib files. But, when it's done installing (and it takes awhile), simply start gqrx and select your particular RTL-SDR from the drop down box.

It's plug and play, no manual configuration needed. I use Ubuntu (actually Xubuntu) and I've never had the Synaptic Package Manager fail to produce a working gqrx install.

Post Reply