RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
rifleman49
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:28 pm

RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rifleman49 » Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:28 pm

When I try to start SDRSharp, pressing START, an error message says 'Source not selected' but it is. The Dongle is working correctly as it works on PlanePlotter. Only way I have found Is to delete the prog and re-install. Can anyone help please?

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:08 am

So after you delete reinstall SDR# it works? When does it start to give that error then?

Also just checking that you've closed PlanePlotter before trying SDR#?

rifleman49
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rifleman49 » Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:18 pm

After deleting all traces of SDRSharp and then re-installing, SDRSharp works perfectly for about three or four weeks. All my logged stations are already in the new installation, so I have no idea what causes the problem. No problem about Plane Spotter or its linked program Dump1090 as I tried that route straight away. I have tried all buttons in order to re-start to no avail.

rifleman49
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rifleman49 » Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:29 pm

Further to the previous reply, trying the Dump1090/PlaneSpotter combination, everything opens but PlaneSpotter will not start. Checking, I found the following error message on the Dump1090 screen:-
usb_open error -12
Error opening the RTLSDR device: no error
The light for the device is on. Is the device faulty?

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:12 am

If the device works fine in dump1090 and SDR# then it's not faulty.

I'd maybe guess that Windows is overwriting your drivers if it stops working every few weeks. Disable Windows automatic driver updates.

For dump1090 confirm that the rtlsdr.dll or librtlsdr.dll files are in the same directory.

rifleman49
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rifleman49 » Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:31 pm

An update to the above:-
Now I cannot even install SDRSharp. Plane Spotter is also not even trying. Dump1090 is running but nowt else. Think I'l go back to my Bearcat UBC355CLT scanner!

tim_rtd
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:34 am

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by tim_rtd » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:22 am

I suspect Dump1090 is still running....perhaps in the background ,locking down the use of the dongle by other apps. Kill the Dump1090 process. Then try the other apps again.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR will not recognise selected Source

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:13 pm

rifleman49 wrote:
Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:31 pm
An update to the above:-
Now I cannot even install SDRSharp. Plane Spotter is also not even trying. Dump1090 is running but nowt else. Think I'l go back to my Bearcat UBC355CLT scanner!
Have you scanned your PC for viruses/malware? If every program is dying in some way i'd suspect something like that.

Post Reply