problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Post Reply
ashkan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:50 pm

problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by ashkan » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:58 pm

HIi All ferinds.
I useing rtl sdr 2832 and kalibrate software in kali.but kalibrate after using once not work and don;t show chanel .then using kalibrat in windos 7 but this problem available in win7 please help me to solve it.
tnx dears.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:16 am

Kalibrate can be a little finicky somethings. What RTL-SDR are you using? If it's one without a TCXO it can help to add an at least approximate PPM offset.

ashkan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:50 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by ashkan » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:45 am

Tnx for your advantage it's out put:
C:\kalibrate-rtl-win32_bin_05062015>kal -s GSM900
Found 1 device(s):
0: Generic RTL2832U

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U
Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
Exact sample rate is: 270833.002142 Hz
[R82XX] PLL not locked!
meh: Scanning for GSM-900 base stations.
GSM-900:
chan: 26 (940.2MHz + 36.582kHz) power: 66699.18
chan: 54 (945.8MHz + 39.098kHz) power: 40673.40
chan: 56 (946.2MHz + 38.710kHz) power: 103557.62
chan: 58 (946.6MHz + 39.164kHz) power: 139477.25
but once worked .after second run kal -s GSM900 it's not worked and after half hour again worked.it is my problem that why i hav not out after once on kali and win7.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by rtlsdrblog » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:41 am

That output looks correct. What happens when it doesn't work?

ashkan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:50 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by ashkan » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:43 pm

It 's out put once and second after use in win7 32 and in kali similer it:
C:\kalibrate-rtl-win32_bin_05062015>kal -s GSM900
Found 1 device(s):
0: Generic RTL2832U

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U
Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
Exact sample rate is: 270833.002142 Hz
[R82XX] PLL not locked!
meh: Scanning for GSM-900 base stations.
GSM-900:
chan: 25 (940.0MHz + 33.265kHz) power: 47055.28
chan: 26 (940.2MHz + 34.078kHz) power: 59071.13
chan: 47 (944.4MHz + 35.340kHz) power: 35230.47
chan: 56 (946.2MHz + 36.430kHz) power: 96260.77
chan: 58 (946.6MHz + 36.863kHz) power: 108945.97

C:\kalibrate-rtl-win32_bin_05062015>kal -s GSM900
Found 1 device(s):
0: Generic RTL2832U

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U
Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
Exact sample rate is: 270833.002142 Hz
[R82XX] PLL not locked!
meh: Scanning for GSM-900 base stations.
GSM-900:

C:\kalibrate-rtl-win32_bin_05062015>

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:01 pm

You mean it works fine the first time, but then the second time you try it doesn't work?

What model RTL-SDR are you using? Perhaps if you're using one without a TCXO then the offset drifts too far after having warmed up for a few minutes. That could cause Kalibrate to not find any frequencies.

ashkan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:50 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by ashkan » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:02 pm

yes it's first ok but second dos not work and after about 15 minutes work again once.
I thinke that dongel is warm,if possible please explain about TCXO and which dongel i can buy from Amazon that not have a drift and work more than once.tnx alot.
my dongel image is attached.
photo_2018-01-16_01-31-59.jpg
photo_2018-01-16_01-31-59.jpg (95.27 KiB) Viewed 6241 times

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:26 am

Ah yes that one doesn't have a TCXO, it's just a regular dongle. You can try and guess the PPM and provide it to Kalibrate. Trying e.g. 30 - 60 as an offset.

But if you want a proper RTL-SDR for radio use get one with a TCXO. Of course I recommend our RTL-SDR V3 https://www.amazon.com/RTL-SDR-Blog-RTL ... ds=rtl+sdr

ashkan
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:50 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by ashkan » Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:55 am

tnx alot please explain about TCXO or source for more information.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2699
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: problem kalibrate for rtl sdr 2832 once worked in kali and win7

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:50 am

TCXO - Temperature Compensated Oscillator

Just an oscillator that automatically compensates for frequency drift due to heat.

Post Reply