New Member Saying Hello.

Main forum to discuss RTL-SDR related topics.
Wilf

New Member Saying Hello.

Post by Wilf » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:21 pm

Hello,
I am 50 years old and live in the UK.
I am not new to radio or PC, but I am very new to SDR, my only experience with SDR, being using a couple of the online SDR,s.
I have radios and antennas various, but today my very first SDR dongle arived in the post.
I bought a Blue 820T2 dongle and pigtail from ebay.
I have a Windows 7 and a Windows 10 laptop, but would initialy like to set up my new dongle on my new Acer Iconia One 7 android tablet, which has 16 GB Rom, 1 GB Ram and Android 6.0.
I have looked round the net, but a lot of the posts I read are from a few years back.
I am still waiting on the USB OTG cable coming, but it should be here tommorow, so my plan is to have a go at setting it up over the weekend.
My first question is, what android software comes recommended ?
The paperwork that came with the dongle only gives set up info for Windows, with no mention of android, and has a revision date of 2014.
Thanks very much in advsance.
Regards,
Wilf.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin

Re: New Member Saying Hello.

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:02 pm

Welcome! For Windows SDR#, HDSDR, SDR Console or SDRuno. See our QSG here www.rtl-sdr.com/QSG.

From Android SDR Touch and RF Analyzer are the main options. Wavesink if you want to listen to DAB.

Wilf

Post by Wilf » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:29 pm

Hi,
Thanks very much for the info, I will have a go over the weekend.
Regards,
wilf.

Wilf

Post by Wilf » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:41 pm

Hi,
Well, that went much better than expected !
I downloaded SDRtouch and the RTL driver.
I purchased the product/pro key too.
It works perfectly, im delighted.
Im now looking for a similar type of dongle as I would like to try MW andf SW too.
Are there any recommendations for a similar type of dongle that will cover MW/SW and be compatable with my above Acer tablet and SDRtouch.