No devices in SDR

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
badgimp
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 8:03 pm

Re: No devices in SDR

Post by badgimp » Thu May 17, 2018 1:51 am

Tried that....
Attachments
yetmorepics.jpg
yetmorepics.jpg (125.46 KiB) Viewed 165 times
zadig pic.jpg
zadig pic.jpg (41.38 KiB) Viewed 165 times

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1583
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: No devices in SDR

Post by rtlsdrblog » Fri May 18, 2018 4:34 am

Zadig shows that the dongle is recognized and that the drivers are correctly installed.

One thing I noticed is that you said before that you have the SDRSharp.RTLSDR.dll file in there. But do you have the "rtlsdr.dll" file in the SDR# folder too? Exactly that file name.

badgimp
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 8:03 pm

Re: No devices in SDR

Post by badgimp » Sat May 19, 2018 4:12 pm

nope, I did a computer wide search for it and it is not on my computer. I did a search on the web for it and didn't find it either.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1583
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: No devices in SDR

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun May 20, 2018 9:12 am

Okay that's the issue then. When you ran install-rtsdr.bat it should have downloaded rtlsdr.dll into your SDR# folder. Maybe at the time you did that the server was down, or there was some other temporary glitch with your internet connection. Can you try running install-rtlsdr.bat again?

Also if that doesn't download it, please re-read step 5 of the QSG too https://www.rtl-sdr.com/rtl-sdr-quick-start-guide/. Rarely badly configured PCs or antivirus software can prevent bat files working properly, so a manual installation of rtlsdr.dll would be required, and there is a link to those instructions on step 5. That should definitely fix the issues.

badgimp
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 8:03 pm

Re: No devices in SDR

Post by badgimp » Sun May 20, 2018 11:38 am

Works now! My firewall apparently blocked it the first time round. :D Thanks!

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1583
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: No devices in SDR

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun May 20, 2018 10:54 pm

Great! Yep a firewall that blocks downloading from bat files would cause it to fail.

Post Reply