SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
johny33
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:27 am

SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by johny33 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:42 am

Hello, after I have correctly installed SDRSharp on Win 7 64 bit, I can watch frequencies, see signal strength and play sound on not used frequencies (the usual hiss). When I would like to listen sound on used frequency (for example any fm radio from 87 to 108 mhz) after about one second of playback the program freezes. I tested itmultiple times but the result was the same. What should I do? Johny33 it )

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:44 am

Check your soundcard settings in Windows for anything strange, and check if there is updated drivers for your soundcard.

johny33
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:27 am

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by johny33 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:39 am

Hello, I have no other problem with my soundcard on that notebook but I will try it on a different machine. If the problem will persist what other steps should I try? One more question: what would be a good antena for such card? The one I got with it is quite weak.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:12 pm

If the dongle is running fine but just without sound, then it's definitely a software/driver issue somewhere and not the hardware, as the SDR hardware has nothing to do with the sound.

What antenna came with the dongle you purchased? If you got our dipole kit, then that's a pretty good starters antenna if you can get it up high and/or outside. If you got a whip with your rtl-sdr i'd look into purchasing a discone and getting that up on your roof/attic.

johny33
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:27 am

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by johny33 » Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:44 am

Hello, the sound is working fine as I have said until I tune to strong radio. When I hit play on a frequency with no signal I can hear classical FM hiss with no dropout, so I think that the soundcard is ok, the crash of sdrsharp occurs when I tune to frequency where strong radio broadcasts. Refgarding the antena with my dongle I got a small 5 cm antena LOL. Johny33

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:12 am

That is very strange then. What sort of strong broadcasts are you tuning to? So if you tune to a weaker broadcast it doesn't crash?

Maybe try an alternative program like HDSDR or SDR-Console V3.

JEL
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:08 am

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by JEL » Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:26 pm

Does SDR# actually freeze (all graphics stop moving) or is it the sound that disappears (graphics still moving but no sound heard) ?

If SDR# completely freezes, then try to start it and leave it at the empty frequency for some time. If it freezes there as well, then my guess is it's a USB problem (Too long cable or too much noise picked up by the cable. In my experience SDR# tends to be very picky about the signal coming through the USB and will stop playing if the signal has errors)

johny33
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:27 am

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by johny33 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:01 pm

Thanx for answers I have solved it by disabling the screen reader and restarted it later. For me as a blind it is necessary software:-). I guess that the screen reader was conflicting with the sdrsharp because both program wanted to use same soundcard. Now it works. One question: is there any plugin for sdrsharp which will allow me to listen to digital transmissions from Motorola radiostations (they are not encrypted)? Thanx for info Johny33

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: SDR sharp stops playing radio after about a second

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:02 am

by Motorola radiostations do you mean DMR? For DMR you can use DSDPlus from dsdplus.com.

Post Reply