Failure when moved to powered hub

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
DGall
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:52 pm

Failure when moved to powered hub

Post by DGall » Sat Dec 14, 2019 5:54 am

Windows 7 Home, Nooelec dongle.
Everything works when directly connected to computer USB, except the software will freeze after a minute or 3. I was told to place the dongle on a powered hub. This I have done however now the software will not work at all. Doesn't seem to see the dongle when it's on the hub and I don't know why. Hub is new and seems to operate just fine when other items (like external drive) are plugged in. At my wits end with this. Have followed every procedure I can find, have uninstalled everything and started over. Ideas please! See attachments Edit: meant to make clear that I re-ran install.bat and zadig after moving the dongle.
Attachments
OnhubnotworkingE4000.png
OnhubnotworkingE4000.png (90.79 KiB) Viewed 659 times
sdr#working.png
sdr#working.png (65.79 KiB) Viewed 659 times

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Failure when moved to powered hub

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:14 am

Do you happen to have, or can you get a cheap USB current meter? I wonder if it's one with a bad RTL2832U chip that's drawing too much current, and the USB hub can't supply it.

Generally if it's disconnecting after a few minutes, i'd say it's either a poor/bad USB connection, RTL2832U chip fault, or USB controller issue.

Do other USB ports on your PC also have the same disconnecting issue?

DGall
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:52 pm

Re: Failure when moved to powered hub

Post by DGall » Sat Dec 14, 2019 5:49 pm

I can tell you didn't read the whole post. Thank you anyway.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Failure when moved to powered hub

Post by rtlsdrblog » Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:01 am

I have re-read the post and the advice I provided remains the same...

The SDR freezing means it's disconnecting from the USB, and that is usually indicative of a USB problem on your PC, or a problem with the RTL2832U chip. If it is an RTL2832U chip problem, then it is conceivable that the powered USB hub may not work with the amount of current the failed chip wants to draw, resulting in it not working on the hub.

DGall
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:52 pm

Re: Failure when moved to powered hub

Post by DGall » Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:26 pm

Ok. Well I've ordered an SDR blog dongle so hopefully that will fix the problem. :)

Post Reply