Nooelec sdr dongle question please....

Talk about other SDR products like the FunCube, HackRF, BladeRF etc.
Post Reply
USAFE501
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:11 pm

Nooelec sdr dongle question please....

Post by USAFE501 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:27 am

Good Morning,
Could someone advise me please ? :?:
I have a Nooelec sdr dongle and the particular version has bias tee built in and it doesn't need to be turned on/off via software so my question is if the bias tee is automatic , can i only connect an antenna such as my L band patch antenna ? Is it then the case my normal receiving Discone antenna that doesn't need power will be damaged ?
Apologies if the science behind bias tee etc is something I struggle with , just don't want to be damaging my equipment all because I was afraid to ask those' " Newbie" questions.....
...We were all Newbies once , weren't we ?!!!!!!! :lol: :lol:
Thanks in advance as always,
USAFE501 :D

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Nooelec sdr dongle question please....

Post by rtlsdrblog » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:20 am

Those with the always on bias tee can be used with any antenna that is not DC shorted. So the L-band patch and discone are fine. The L-band patch is powered, and the discone is a DC OPEN circuit antenna which is okay.

But you must be extremely careful to not use an antenna like a QFH or Jpole etc, as these are DC shorted. Any antenna that connects the center coax to the shield at some point is DC shorted.

Post Reply