SDR# lockup issues

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
danesgswolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:37 am

SDR# lockup issues

Post by danesgswolf » Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:45 am

Have been using RTL-SDR dongles since they first came out and know the ins and outs of making them work. While I like the SDR# interface, No matter what version I use, it will work for awhile and then freeze on me. I am using Windows 10 but it does the same under earlier versions of Windows. My current dongle is the one bought from this site that has the RTL-SDR.com logo stamped on it. Its not the dongle or windows but the SDR# program itself. I have tried many different versions again it makes little difference even on another PC. Can someone point me to a Windows software SDR program that is reliable but not a PITA to make work?

Thanks
KJ4DGE

Username
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by Username » Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:52 pm

what froze SDR# or whte Waterfall?


I recommend the black metal one: https://www.ebay.de/sch/m.html?_odkw=&_ ... r&_sacat=0

danesgswolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:37 am

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by danesgswolf » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:05 pm

SDR#, locks up so tight I have to go into task manager to shut it down.

danesgswolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:37 am

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by danesgswolf » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:07 pm

Also I had the NESDR dongle you mentioned on Ebay and it locked up as well, Pretty sure its not the hardware.

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2677
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by rtlsdrblog » Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:06 am

Best alternative to SDR# is SDR-Console V3, and then secondly there's also HDSDR.

If SDR# is locking up, make sure that the folder it's in is not read only, and that your .NET install is not corrupted. Also don't install the community edition with all the plugins, as it could be a plugin that's causing issues.

Username
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by Username » Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:02 pm

@danesgswolf
Do you reduce the resolution and waterfall speed?

Do you use an Anti Virus?

What is your CPU?

danesgswolf
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:37 am

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by danesgswolf » Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:00 pm

I will try SDR-Console V3 thanks for the alternatives.

Username
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:27 am

Re: SDR# lockup issues

Post by Username » Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:28 pm

Why not solve the problem?

Post Reply