Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:57 pm

Hi folks I just got my first SDR and I cannot get the software to recognize the dongle.

I'm using RTL2832U.. dongle from RTLSDR.com
Windows 10
Microsoft surface pro7

I have the following software installed...
PowerSDR
SDRsharp
SDRuno
SDR Console V3

I must be missing a step somewhere... suggestion please.

tim_rtd
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by tim_rtd » Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:25 pm

You didn't mention zadig. Select bulk interface 0 "only" change the driver. Plenty of comments about zadig around.
Sometimes instead of bulk interface 0 it will actually list rtl2832....select that

sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:42 pm

I tried to search as you stated but it keeps coming up results not displayed too common.

OK I have zadig (USB driver installation made easy) now what?
Sorry this is my first time...

sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:50 pm

ZADIG
I selected options and list all devices
selected Bulk-In, Interface (Interface0)
Driver was RTL2832 --> replaced WinUSB xxx
It installed the new driver...

Now what? Ill open SDR software and try it?

sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:02 pm

Opened SDRuno and it appears to have detected the sdrrtl dongle...
just getting static at the moment but is working now... I think LOL.

tim_rtd
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by tim_rtd » Fri Sep 04, 2020 11:04 pm

Sdruno, to me is a little more complicated...I use extIO for rtl-sdr on that one. But if you have it going go to the OPT button, select input...you should see Realtek 2832 listed. Select it....Should get a pop up....increase RF gain.

I would start with sdr console or sdr # to start with.....on any of them you must increase the rf gain

sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:09 pm

With SDRuno (EXTIO) version when it loads it say found "Rafel Micro R820T Tuner" but I get nothing but static also I do not see a RF Gain option. I do just have the indoor dual whip antenna that came with my rtl-sdr.

Also tried SDR Console V3.0.24 I cant get it to see my rtl-sdr? Please advise.
When I open it it complains about Radio definitions... say at least one must be defined.

tim_rtd
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by tim_rtd » Wed Sep 09, 2020 12:15 am

As per my last note. The gain slider should be in a pop up window box. OPT button, select input...you should see Realtek 2832 listed. Select it....Should get a pop up....increase RF gain.... Do you see the RTL2832 when you selected input?

On to SDR console....
Select definitions button
hit the search button, scroll down to RTL Dongle,
Select USB
It will find any RTL devices you have plugged into your computer,
Add definitions to you list.
You should have a USB rtl now listed.
SDR CONSOLE needs no other files added.. It should be totally self contained app....Other than zidig

sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Wed Sep 09, 2020 1:32 am

My deepest apologies I must be missing something I don't have a rf gain slider in the sdruno main window
(see my screenshot)Image
Attachments
sdruno.jpg
sdruno.jpg (304.49 KiB) Viewed 1323 times

sorensenbrad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Help please I cannot get my RTL-SDR to work... suggestion?

Post by sorensenbrad » Wed Sep 09, 2020 1:41 am

As for SDR Console it says it cant find my rtl dongle usb? Do I have to run zigdig for each program? I ran it once to get srduno to see the rtl-sdr.
(see screenshot)
Image
Attachments
unnamed.jpg
unnamed.jpg (567.53 KiB) Viewed 1319 times

Post Reply