RTL-SDR, Pi, NOAA, Bandwidth setting

Need help installing or figuring out something about your SDR? Ask here.
Post Reply
skippyinspace
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:01 pm

RTL-SDR, Pi, NOAA, Bandwidth setting

Post by skippyinspace » Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:11 pm

Ive built a Pi based RTL-SDR NOAA satellite decoder but Im not getting any clouds, Im getting this error wxtoimg: warning: Narrow IF bandwidth (set Recording Options/receiver type), low S/N, or volume too high in wxtoimag which I assume means I need to set/change the bandwidth


As Im running this headless on a Pi how do I fix it, Antenna is working and RTL-SDR comes back with no errors, So it must be the bandwith on the RTL SDR

Thanks
Ian

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2784
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR, Pi, NOAA, Bandwidth setting

Post by rtlsdrblog » Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:06 am

Are you just getting the outline? If so that might mean that you're actually not getting any signal or audio.

How are you getting the data or audio out of the Pi? Can you first try to visualize the signal coming in on SDR# etc? You can use rtl_tcp and connect to the Pi remotely. You'll just need to setup SSH on your Pi.

skippyinspace
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:01 pm

Re: RTL-SDR, Pi, NOAA, Bandwidth setting

Post by skippyinspace » Sat Oct 31, 2020 2:23 pm

The build was this project https://nootropicdesign.com/projectlab/ ... d-station/

examples of what Im getting is here http://skippyinspace.s3.eu-west-2.amazo ... index.html

Noting I have turned the system off on the 29th of October

Its all run headless and other than WXtoimg I dont seem to see any program for adjusting the SDR

I am thinking that over the weekend I might download the following https://github.com/reynico/raspberry-noaa to a different SD card and see what happens (Since it does Meteor aswell) but other than that that using the same pi and SDR

rtlsdrblog
Site Admin
Posts: 2784
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: RTL-SDR, Pi, NOAA, Bandwidth setting

Post by rtlsdrblog » Thu Nov 05, 2020 1:18 am

Can you upload here what your image looks like? There are no images on your web server.

Edit: It eventually loaded.

Yeah your images show that you've received absolutely no signal at all. Only the background map that comes from the software is showing.

You'll want to check your signal first with a GUI program like SDR#.

Post Reply